Skip to content

busy days

October 21, 2015

the progress of making shifu yarn is very slow

P1070822the first ball of spun thread and the torn bits of paper

by clicking on the picture you can see the quality of the paper

the kozo fibre makes it strong even when cut into 2mm (1/10 inch) strips

P1070827one full sheet of paper – 39″ X 26″  (99.5cm X 63cm)

weighing .75oz  (21.26gm.)

I haven’t calculated the time taken to get to this point but it is greater than 10 hours

and I have 10 sheets (maybe more) to prepare for a major weaving project

planning the next warp – if the current one ever gets finished

P1070824once again I received another weaver’s stash

cotton and some very nice linen

it will take more than one lifetime to weave all this

P1070809keeping my eye on the weather and hoping to get some good indigo seeds

the back fence protects me from the back lane and hungry deer

and some rowdy high school students

it collapsed in the first winter wind and was rebuilt

I am delighted with the result

the builders were happy to reuse the rotary cut, old boards and they didn’t have to go in the landfill

12 Comments leave one →
  1. vdbolyard permalink
    October 25, 2015 6:30 am

    jean, hints of a big project are so enticing! the thread looks very good–are you spinning on a turkish spindle, or do you have a winder that makes this kind of ball?

    Like

    • October 25, 2015 8:42 am

      Velma – shifu takes so much time it will keep me working through the winter. Spinning on the little rim weighted turkish spindle from IST Crafts on the Isle of Wight.

      Like

  2. October 22, 2015 1:23 am

    lovely shifu combined with one of those “reclaimed” yarns

    Like

  3. October 21, 2015 9:57 pm

    Your shifu turned out lovely. Can’t wait to see what you make with it. Your indigo looks just like mine – I already have some seeds that I hope are mature but I think I will pick some flower stalks and bring them indoors just in case. I’d hate to have no viable seeds come spring!

    Like

    • October 21, 2015 10:21 pm

      Louisa – I’ve never had any luck bringing them in before the seed are fully developed. The shifu is going to take quite awhile.

      Like

  4. October 21, 2015 6:06 pm

    *GASP* *Drool* the linen! Lovely shifu, time well spent.

    Like

    • October 21, 2015 6:12 pm

      Kristin – only a few cones are linen and not special, still available from weaving suppliers. Many more hours to go with the shifu.

      Like

  5. Mary permalink
    October 21, 2015 3:19 pm

    Check out Paper Threads, Yarns and Textiles on Facebook re spinning and using paper thread/yarns.

    Like

    • October 21, 2015 5:08 pm

      Mary – thanks, I have visited them and have Susan Byrd’s book. Hiroko Karuno’s book Kigami and Kami-ito is my bible, short, clear, comprehensive instructions from a master. I’m not especially into the “artsy” stuff. My introduction to shifu was at Kawashima textile school in 1987 and I’ve been experimenting ever since.

      Like

  6. October 21, 2015 2:26 pm

    I like your fence! Does it keep cougars away too?!

    Like

    • October 21, 2015 2:41 pm

      Kjerstin – I definitely don’t want to see one of them but certainly hope they would have to think twice. Keeping the deer out should solve the cougar problem.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.