Skip to content

more threads

August 20, 2014

this is the rainbow warp on the warping mill P1050410

it looks more like Crayola colours

tea towels guaranteed to brighten any morning

P1050424

just getting started – navy blue bamboo weft

the same advancing twill – using up more of the stash

P1050420

the studio looks like a big wind blew through

P1050421

the morning after starting a new class – it’s a tight fit!

P1050412

last weekends Fibrations – under a brilliant blue sky

P1050411

it gets bigger and better every year

thanks to Knotty by Nature and Ryan and Stephanie

I didn’t participate this year so had lots of time to see everything

P1050414

experienced hands at work

Barbara Birke’s bobbin lace is exquisite

she talked and answered questions while continuing to weave this intricate pattern

it is lovely to see the old crafts still being professionally worked

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2014 1:02 pm

    before I saw your advanced twills – both this weaving and wonderful scarves from the previous post I never thought it is something I would like to try one day- now I have changed my mind! vertical color changes makes it into something completely different. Your studio looks very inviting.

    (I have learnt that leaving notes and “likes” in WordPress blogs from my cell phone is an one-sided illusion – I can see it on the phone, but when I come back here from the computer – no traces. Oh, well, it’s nice to come to your blog often 🙂

    Like

    • August 20, 2014 1:21 pm

      Alfia – advancing twills give the fabric some texture and the twill areas and plain weave reflect the light differently affecting the colour. it gives a complex look to something really quite simple. not sure about the problem with wordpress, at times I find the whole “comments” process very frustrating.
      thank you for visiting and leaving a comment. 🙂

      Like

  2. August 21, 2014 1:23 am

    gorgeous warp.the fair looks like a lot of fun.

    Like

  3. August 21, 2014 3:20 am

    This rainbow warp is so different from what you’ve been doing! And I love seeing the advancing twill in another project–I’m just getting a sense for what it can do. You’re busy!

    Like

    • August 21, 2014 6:16 am

      Kerry – I like to repeat a weave structure in different yarns and setts to see what will come of it. the pattern of colour changes is more interesting to me but these colours are definitely way out of my comfort zone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

