Skip to content

glorious colour

August 14, 2014

 

after weeks of hot, dry weather and forest fires burning throughout the province

P1050402

it rained steadily all night

the Earth sighed

 the birds sang

P1050404and I finished weaving the scarves

two slightly different wefts

P1050406on one side the weft floats over three threads

on the other side the warp floats over three threads

can you see the difference in the diagonal pattern?

P1050407the center piece, woven at the end of the warp, has a weft of silver-grey silk

I was so happy weaving this colour sequence with the advancing twill

P1050408

that the next warp will be cotton tea towels in a rainbow lineup

there is going to be a bumper crop of grapes

P1050358in this corner bed in Beacon Hill Park

blooms this mysterious flower – growing 4-5 feet tall

P1050355does anyone know what it is??

I need to have one

P1050401the rain has stopped, the sun is back

the colours are clean and sparkling

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2014 6:25 am

    That first photo is so interesting–the ambiguity really got to me. At first I couldn’t figure out what was going on. Same shifting point of view in the scarves. Very appealing.

    Like

  2. Ann Harvard permalink
    August 16, 2014 10:50 am

    Hi Jean, cotton tea towels always elevate my mood…even just the thought of them. Your mystery flower is an “Abutilon (tiger eye), not hardy in our climate but is usually grown as an annual. Can easily be grown from a cutting and kept as a houseplant over the winter.

    Like

    • August 16, 2014 11:27 am

      Hi Ann – so good to hear from you. thank you, do you know where I can get one or is it too late this year? I have a cheque for you taped to my kitchen cupboard. drop by when you have time. 🙂

      Like

      • Ann Harvard permalink
        August 16, 2014 1:26 pm

        Hi Jean, I bet you have periods when you wish you had a clone! Elk Lake nursery had some of those Abutilon about 2 weeks ago; also Gardenworks. Don’t buy one unless it’s in bloom so you can be sure it’s the one you really want…often mislabeled. If I come across a specimen, I’ll nab it for you…like a beautiful scarf, one can never have too many plants as far as I’m concerned.
        Once the visitors leave, life should be sane again!

        Like

      • August 16, 2014 1:45 pm

        Ann – thanks, again. going to the garden centers is fatal – even a list doesn’t keep me out of trouble. I’m starting a new class Tues. night – and I was thinking about quitting teaching and selling the table looms !!?

        Like

  3. kathleen permalink
    August 15, 2014 2:50 pm

    The plant is a flowering maple tree, or albuliton, I discovered it last year on the grounds of government house. Love your scarves and look forward to seeing them in the fall.

    Like

  4. August 15, 2014 2:23 pm

    Yay for rain! I love the scarves–I think I could spend my entire weaving life just exploring twills!

    Like

    • August 15, 2014 2:58 pm

      Kerry – like knitting is basically purl and plain, weaving is basically plain and twill and a combination of the two.
      thanks to everyone – I am very pleased with the scarves, it is a nice feeling after the previous disaster!

      Like

  5. August 15, 2014 1:57 am

    sometimes rain is a blessing.gorgeous scarves.

    Like

  6. August 15, 2014 1:40 am

    The flower could be an Abuliton, love the scarves.

    Like

  7. Lis permalink
    August 15, 2014 12:00 am

    Wow, a rainbow weave goes well with those wonderful flowers. I think the mystery plant might be an abutilon. The scarves are lovely, so gentle in colour and texture.

    Like

  8. August 14, 2014 9:25 pm

    Three years ago we had forest fires all over the place around here – I know rain is a wonderful relief!
    The scarves are beautiful! I love those diagonal blue lines.

    Like

    • August 14, 2014 9:44 pm

      textile ranger – it’s been an unusually hot, dry summer. the province has even brought fire crews in from Australia! and Washington State is worse than we are. now with the change in weather we’re getting fires started by lightening strikes.

      Like

      • August 14, 2014 9:54 pm

        That is so scary! You just have that danger hanging over your head forever, it feels like. (I’m more used to hurricanes that pop up regularly, but go away quickly.) When the fires hit 6 miles from us, and we knew we might have to evacuate, I planned to just put all my historic textiles in plastic boxes,and throw them in our pond. Fortunately I didn’t have to do that!
        I hope you get lots of rain with no lightning. I am still grateful every time it rains here.

        Like

      • August 15, 2014 8:04 am

        textile ranger – don’t think I would ever be directly threatened by forest fires but am afraid for those in it’s path.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.