Skip to content

changes

October 11, 2012

suddenly the weather has gone from the driest,  hottest fall on record to cloudy and cold

we need rain, one of our major salmon rivers has almost dried up, it is time for the salmon to spawn. The situation is critical

time to pick the second cut of indigo

it hasn’t started to flower so I have potted 4 of the best plants hoping to get some seeds, doesn’t look likely

the leaves are starting to turn blue but they may take some time to dry

the Amanita muscaria are back, they start like this

at their best

fully mature

they are on the boulevard in front of my house

I have to enjoy them before the municipality mows them down or the high school kids stomp on them

DO NOT EAT

I’ve been spinning Fox Fiber cotton

the two skeins are from the same bobbin

the green one was simmered in water with a little washing soda for an hour

what a difference a ph change makes!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    October 18, 2012 1:52 pm

    Will you dye with the mushrooms?

    Like

    • October 18, 2012 2:29 pm

      Renee – I’ve never had any colour from these mushrooms but now the wet weather has arrived I’ll be looking for dye ones.

      Like

  2. October 13, 2012 9:07 am

    Amanita mushroom is so beautiful, I like how it changes while ‘ripening’.
    Have you smurfs as well on your boulevard?

    Like

    • October 13, 2012 1:23 pm

      Blandina – no smurfs but I have been looking for a garden gnome in a garage sale to keep them company

      Like

  3. October 12, 2012 4:57 pm

    The rain feels like such a blessing. we need it so badly. And I’m amazed amanita survives out on your boulevard. There is a certain, uh, niche market for it in spite of its poisonous nature. They are so pretty and potentially deadly.

    Like

    • October 12, 2012 6:03 pm

      Heather – I love the sun but yes, the province is desperate for rain. There will be lots more ‘shrooms now!

      Like

  4. October 12, 2012 12:41 am

    We have rain you can have, grey, wet and dismal here this morning!

    Like

    • October 12, 2012 8:29 am

      Hi Lis – thank you very much, we have the same this morning. Hopefully the salmon are saved

      Like

  5. October 11, 2012 7:31 pm

    lovely green! it’s so neat to see the color change happen. sometime, i’m going to just tie off areas of the skein as if i’m doing a kasuri, and see if i can control the color shift. it’s really cold here today, and a little rainy (northern california). i don’t think i’m prepared for the cold yet!

    Like

  6. October 11, 2012 5:58 pm

    Dear Jean, I have a very good crop of flowers and lots of seed, if you need any. I live up in North Saanich. Susan

    Like

    • October 11, 2012 6:31 pm

      Susan – thanks for the offer. I can’t imagine that I’ll get seeds at this late date. I’ll accept your offer gratefully

      Like

      • October 12, 2012 8:15 pm

        I have just finished picking all my indigo and the flower bits are in containers drying up. I find it much easier to get the seed when everything is dry. When seeds are in pill bottles! I will let you know and we can arrange a meet.
        I think you are drying your leaves to compost – yes?
        I made tea with all mine and I am going to use one of this years buckets of tea and put ferrous sulphate in it as a reducer, to see if I can use it all winter in the garage. Are you using the stems? Susan

        Like

      • October 12, 2012 9:01 pm

        Susan – I will wait to hear from you. I have made a separate dye bath with the stems. Silk is in it now.

        Like

  7. October 11, 2012 5:40 pm

    beautiful beautiful cotton. belated happy thanksgiving (and why doesn’t america follow canada’s lead and have a sensible t’giving holiday???)

    Like

    • October 11, 2012 6:32 pm

      Velma – I’ve always thought that turkey two months in a row is a bit much,that is if you do turkey. Canadian Thanksgiving is mostly a family affair.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.