Skip to content

boro

January 25, 2011

–one of my projects this year is to complete a pieced and stitched project that I started approximately 3 years ago. It now measures 147cm X 147cm (58″ X 58″) and that is enough weight and bulk to work on. ALL the fabric is handwoven and dyed or topdyed with natural indigo and sashiko stitched. Three of the fabrics were clothing pieces I wore for years. One of them was dyed and woven at Kawashima Textile School in Kyoto, Japan in 1987.

The term “boro” has become very trendy, at least in North America, but in Japan is still synonymous with dire poverty. My own inspiration comes from principles of thrift and reuse  taught by my mother. She is also responsible for teaching me to stitch.

The book “Boro: Rags and Tatters from the Far North of Japan”, written by Yukiko Koide and Kyoichi Tsuzuki  has written descriptions in both English and Japanese. It is difficult to find and I ordered mine from Japan. It features a small portion of  Chuzaburo Tanaka’s collection, started in the 1960’s.

The pictures in the book are heartrending, it is difficult to imagine such need.  I give a small whisper of thanks every time I look at the book.

There will be more of this as the work continues.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:19 am

    I just want to mention I’m new to blogging and absolutely liked your web-site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely have fantastic stories. Bless you for sharing your website.

    Like

  2. January 25, 2011 3:09 pm

    i know some of those cloths! this is how when it all comes together, your many interests, a cloth of exquisite worth* is made. how much your hands have touched this, how much of your being is in this!

    *not money

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.