Skip to content

patches

January 11, 2011

much of my inspiration comes from ethnic textiles. I have the greatest respect for work produced with basic tools and in very basic conditions.  But–textiles continue to be made, studied and respected in societies that value . Their history, spiritual belief  and social structure is represented in their textiles.

I have had this mirror cloth for over 30 years, it’s not folded and stored away, I see it every day. And still, its tiny stitches and the light from its mirrors give me pleasure. 

This stitched hanging has been “in the works” for quite some time, but it wasn’t coming together. Then, one day I folded it and instantly saw the problem, when I cut 1/3 of the background off it was happy–and so was I.   

Except for the brown background pieces, dyed with kakishibu, it is all handwoven. I used traditional rice paste resist to create the circle pattern and plastic needlepoint circles for the stencil. The weft in the white background piece was my first handspun cotton. All the blue is indigo.

Now we are both happy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 12:58 pm

    love this work..beautifulxlynda

    Like

  2. January 11, 2011 4:43 pm

    this is rich.

    Like

  3. Elnora permalink
    January 13, 2011 1:14 pm

    Mary, I just can’t express how wonderful I find your piece. Absolutely breath-taking… I especially love the brown background piece.

    Like

  4. January 13, 2011 1:27 pm

    thanks, everyone. after a long stall I was really pleased when this one came together. Jean

    Like

  5. January 13, 2011 5:58 pm

    Lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

