Skip to content

patience rewarded

January 5, 2013

I ordered Aimee Lee’s book Hanji Unfurled before Christmas and have been waiting impatiently for it to arrive

books 096

it was worth the wait, in fact, I was up ’till 5 a.m. reading

although I will never take up paper making (it’s hard work and my body is getting too old)

books 097

the story of Aimee’s study in Korea is fascinating, well written and illustrated

books 098

the work she creates with hanji is unique, perfect and exquisite

 something I appreciate – she gives full credit to her mentors and teachers

Aimee’s note (top) is a neatly folded tiny package

books 099

I unfolded and refolded it trying to figure out how it was made but it was a complete puzzle

until she posted an explanation and photos on her blog

books 100

my first successful attempt is in the middle, a heavier paper one followed (can I do this with fabric?)

it really helps to draw (or stamp) a design on the folds as Aimee shows in her tutorial

this is too much fun, am I getting dotty in my old age??

thank you, Aimee, I’ve corrected the spelling of hanji

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 11:12 am

    Aimee’s book looks fabulous! Perhaps I can convince my weavers’ guild to get a copy.

    Our interest in hanji began when the guild was involved in an exhibition a few years ago that combined the work of both local (Vancouver area) and Korean artists using hanji. It was quite incredible! Of course I was the only one who knitted my piece, a lace shawl dyed after knitting. The paper strip yarn that I used held up beautifully to the stresses of knitting dyeing and blocking and is quite wearable. Hmmm… I need to dig out the rest of the yarn cone and do something with it.

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 11:30 am

      Louisa – the book is one of the best technical books I have read in a very long time, also a wonderful story of her travels and adventures in Korea. She will be in the Pacific NW this year and could be approached to give a workshop/lecture. I had two pieces in the Hanji show and was just looking at the catalogue again, thinking of the Vancouver guild.

      Like

  2. January 7, 2013 6:59 am

    yes! origami fabric, origami clothes, origami shibori.there’s a japanese book on it.

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 9:01 am

      Neki – apparently Aimee used a traditional design of Korean and Chinese sewing kits – which I’ve never seen – but I have the tiny note she wrote and all sorts of ideas. just need the time!

      Like

  3. January 6, 2013 1:34 pm

    This looks exciting. Paper-making is on my list and I might just have enough time this life…what else am I going to do with all my leftover cotton and loom waste?

    Like

    • January 6, 2013 1:45 pm

      Kristin – considering the wonderful, fine work you do I don’t know when you would have time but it is a perfect fit for your fibres. Do it while you are young and physically strong.

      Like

  4. January 6, 2013 8:54 am

    How interesting, there is always something new to learn from your blog. Aimée’s work is amazing and the tiny package intriguing!

    Like

  5. January 6, 2013 5:19 am

    jean, it was while aimee was in korea that we became friends, so i had a ring-side (so to speak) seat as she traveled and studied. her book is so amazing. and she is so amazing.

    Like

  6. January 5, 2013 8:25 pm

    oh, Jean! so sweet to make this post. thank you. and, YES, absolutely you can use fabric. in fact, that was how i finally figured it all out from a completely fabric model! [one small note: it’s “hanji” with a J!]

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 10:05 pm

      Aimee – sorry for the spelling mistake, spellcheck doesn’t like me, I’ll correct it. Can’t wait to give the fabric one a try.

      Like

      • January 6, 2013 6:42 pm

        i KNEW the typo looked familiar—my spellcheck did the same thing, until i told it to stop. thanks! the fabric ones are quite satisfying.

        Like

      • January 6, 2013 10:38 pm

        Aimee – please tell me, how do you tell spellcheck anything? it really hates my textile terminology and my Japanese….I’m working on a fabric prototype.

        Like

  7. January 5, 2013 4:24 pm

    Jean, I’ve bookmarked Aimee page – it’s a wonderful fold. I have indigo seeds for you. I had the notice of your last fall studio tour notice, but I can’t find it now. I’ve now been told that old mails just know when to disappear. As the Aussies would say, bugga! do you want my phone number – I want your address so I can see your shibori weave and the work with paper yarn. I’ll bring my new lace book… Susan

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 5:33 pm

      Susan – Aimee is so creative and she works so-o hard, it’s a treat to think of her as a “blog friend”. You are welcome to come to the studio, I will send you the address.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.