Skip to content

new things

January 4, 2013

the experimental woven shibori is underway

shibori 119

the pink thread is the resist/gathering thread and will be removed once the fabric is dyed

the loops at the selvedge make it easier to pull up

the warp is 5 yards long so I may change the resist pattern but…

that means re-pegging the dobby, ugh!

equipment 004

I’m also trying out a new end-feed shuttle with 20/1 linen weft

the shuttle was a gift, I was a little skeptical

actually I dislike (intensely) using new equipment/ electronics/tools etc.

equipment 005

as promised, it is WONDERFUL. How did I weave for 35 wears without it?

but – is it threaded correctly? should the yarn come out that little hole? there doesn’t seem to be any way to get the thread to the hole. the tension box fits very snuggly

it seems to be working well so for now that is the way it goes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. angela permalink
    January 4, 2013 2:15 pm

    It is threaded correctly. The little hole is for a allen wrench to adjust the tension (should be one on both sides). They are my favorite shuttles.

    Like

    • January 4, 2013 3:55 pm

      Angela – I realized with the hole on both sides that was probably what it was for, the tension seems good so I didn’t want to tinker with it . thanks for confirming. Think it is going to become a much treasured tool.
      Kristin – they are expensive, that is why I hadn’t tried one before receiving it.

      Like

  2. January 4, 2013 3:42 pm

    This thing looks so hi-tech! I’ve never tried one but now you got me thinking. Can’t think of what the hole would be for.

    Like

  3. January 4, 2013 3:58 pm

    I was going to help with the tension question but Angela beat me to it. If you didn’t get the little Allen key with it, I’m sure you can find one at the hardware store to fit. You do realise that those shuttles are now going for US$170 from AVL? Nice gift you got, Jean!

    Like

    • January 4, 2013 4:52 pm

      Louisa – all help is gratefully accepted. I do realize how expensive they have become, I am thrilled with it.

      Like

  4. beadsandfibreslady permalink
    January 5, 2013 4:19 am

    How about a simple needle-threader, one of those little silver labour-saving devices with a thin wire on the end?

    Like

  5. January 5, 2013 4:29 am

    isn’t it funny jean that resistance to the new? i remember seeing the original louet s10 and i instantly knew it would be grand, and it was. it came out after others that i resisted or hated using, my s10 still has the original drive band and still works like a dream. great about the new shuttle. i anticipate watching this woven shibori.

    Like

    • January 5, 2013 8:59 am

      Velma – that Louet is a winner. I always have to give myself a good talking to before getting on with new stuff.
      beads lady – thank you, Angela solved the problem, the yarn isn’t meant to go through that hole.

      Like

Leave a Reply

