Skip to content

folding fabric

January 7, 2013

well of course I had to drop everything and try out the fabric origami

gifts 114

this is the first  – and only completely finished one

the fabric doesn’t lie  flat like the paper

it sort of puffs out which I really like

gifts 111

I sandwiched two fabrics between a very light double-sided, iron-on interfacing

cotton broadcloth and shibori dyed silk

gifts 110

next in line is a kakishibu dyed cotton – the lining has a rice paste resist pattern dyed with woad

gifts 109

turning the edges in and hand stitching makes a nice finish but it takes time

gifts 108

now that I’m getting a sequence of folding and stitching that works I’m brave enough to try hand-woven fabric

cotton and hemp log cabin pattern, indigo dyed

extra points for anyone that recognizes the fabric as the same as in the blog header

silk satin lining from a dyeing workshop

mitre the corners and clip out the excess fabric

the loom is feeling neglected, back to weaving tomorrow.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2013 5:36 pm

    These are really cute! The touch of shibori is whimsical.

    Like

  2. ali permalink
    January 7, 2013 5:58 pm

    you always seem to be trying something new, and with great success–I really like what you’re doing here!

    Like

  3. January 7, 2013 6:03 pm

    well of course it’s your header. you are the log cabin queen!

    Like

  4. January 7, 2013 6:03 pm

    and i think aimee learned it from cloth…cloth to paper to cloth…such a familiar journey.

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 6:44 pm

      Velma – yes, Aimee told me she figured it out from a fabric piece. My Mom did indeed start life in a log cabin, I have pictures.
      Ali – I am afraid I’ll never live long enough to try all that I want to, and new things keep coming my way.
      Kristin – all the fabrics are scraps and workshop samples, I don’t throw anything away.

      Like

  5. January 7, 2013 7:35 pm

    oh, oh, oh!!! how quickly you have turned magic into even more magic. instant love! i also love the way the fabric acts differently, and that we’ve come full circle, learning from cloth to paper and back again. hooray!

    Like

    • January 7, 2013 7:49 pm

      Aimee – I love these for tiny surprise presents (a loonie, a toonie, a chocolate or a pair of earrings). Hooray!

      Like

  6. January 8, 2013 1:08 am

    aaand it’s a lift off!!

    Like

  7. January 8, 2013 9:38 am

    Oh, so cute! A lovely little gift packet in very special fabrics.

    BTW I sent the link to the folding instructions to some of my friends who might appreciate the challenge. I’ll let you know what they come up with.

    Like

    • January 8, 2013 10:11 am

      Louisa – I’d love to see what others do with this, need more time to experiment with sizes, fabrics etc. BTW Aimee will be in Seattle mid to end of March, I know the guild is busy then but who should she contact to see if there is an opportunity to present a hanji lecture/program etc??

      Like

  8. lagriccia permalink
    January 11, 2013 8:27 am

    Nothing stops you from trying new techniques, I love it!

    Like

    • January 11, 2013 9:09 am

      Blandina – these little things where fun but they don’t use up much of the fabric stash.

      Like

  9. January 14, 2013 5:08 am

    One feels the love you have for these materials, in the way you treat them so beautifully, to make nice objects. This is really an exemple of crossroads between craftmanship and passion, bravo, bravo, bravo !

    Like

Leave a Reply

