Skip to content

final fitting and a nice surprise

August 5, 2011

Betsy is a department store mannequin, not a dressmaker’s dummie. She may be old but she still has a lovely figure. The apron fits her just a little differently than it does my more mature figure.

The finishing fabric is linen from Maiwa that I indigo dyed.

real folks need a hankie sometimes so I added a pocket. It is lined with the cutout fabric pieces from the arm shaping.  I plan to add some stitching.

 I lined the bib part with fabric from my very extensive fabric stash.

now I have a stars and stripes apron.

if that wasn’t enough excitement for one day the mailman brought me a lovely surprise.

I loved the snowman stamp on this the hottest day of our late summer.

Aimee Lee and I have been sharing info regarding the use of kon’nyaku. She is using it as a sizing on handmade paper. I wasn’t much help as my only experience had been in food products and it definitely isn’t one of my favorite Japanese foods. 

 

kon’nyaku is a gelatinous paste made from the root of the devil’s tongue plant.  Considered an ideal food for dieters (I’d have to be desperate!) it is high in calcium and is alkaline, an interesting fact for papermakers and dyers.  

these samples are so inspiring, thank you Aimee. I am going to try kon’nyaku on some woven shifu.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee' Leach permalink
    June 25, 2012 10:58 pm

    Konyaku like you would find in the grocery store? I couldn’t figure out how to eat it so I haven’t tried it.
    Love the apron.

    Like

    • June 26, 2012 8:20 am

      Renee – the apron looks better on “Betsy” than it does on me! and yes that is the same kon’nyaku.

      Like

  2. August 17, 2011 12:45 pm

    I haven’t been online properly for a while! but so glad you like the samples. And the apron!! I agree with Heather about how the cross straps ease the stress on the neck. I was just cleaning out and reorganizing my belongings last weekend and found a similar apron that I had purchased in Korea a few years ago. I’d take cross straps and pockets any day.

    Like

  3. August 9, 2011 10:12 am

    A great apron! I really like the cross straps in the back – makes wearing the apron so much more comfortable without that pulling feeling at the back of the neck from the usual loop. Hope it brings you pleasure everytime you wear it.

    Like

  4. August 6, 2011 8:05 am

    what a fine apron…perfect for bookbinding!
    and i know how wonderful an aimee packet is! looks *delicious*.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.