Skip to content

time – drifts on

March 28, 2024

another 5 days have slipped by and another page is finished

Ross Bay Cemetery – it faces the Strait of Juan de Fuca and across to the Olympic Mountains in Washington State

it has been in continuous use since 1872 — and tells the story of the city and the brave travelers from around the world who built the city

http://www.oldcem.bc.ca

the trees are magnificent, impressive in the Autumnsome intriguing monuments

and a resident herd of deer

it has been designated a Municipal Heritage Site

starting my page I wanted a patchwork background

I drew a map from one online and transferred it to the fabric with dressmaker’s tracing paper

 each new page is an experiment of fabrics, stitches and design

sometimes it is easier and/or works better than previous pages

this one took more time than is intended

  all those tiny back stitches!

 taking time to stitch straight, and the rounded corners are slow

all the time I was stitching I was walking the paths in my mind

“headstones covered in lichen

time drifts on endlessly

rest in peace”

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Going Batty in Wales permalink
    March 30, 2024 4:03 am

    Old cemeteries are often beautiful and interesting. I am enjoying your Haikus.

    Like

    • March 30, 2024 10:34 am

      Sue – the grounds were designed by a landscape gardener and it reminds me of the old cemeteries I enjoyed wandering around in England. I’m enjoying thinking of the haiku while stitching.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. March 29, 2024 4:11 pm

    As long as people walk those paths and read those headstones, those who lie quietly are not forgotten.

    Like

    • March 30, 2024 10:38 am

      Kate – there is a mix of nationalities and faiths, politicians and adventurers that make it interesting. And yes, all deserve to be remembered.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.