Skip to content

celebrating – part two

March 22, 2024

“Ninety Years of Fibre Arts”

a lovely show of work from the permanent collection together with current work

very nicely displayed in a small, seaside gallery

a wonderful selection of old and new – each individual piece an expression of the maker’s hand

including clothing, hats, bags and scarves

  linens and art pieces

it was a trip down memorial lane – each piece had a well research name card and there were many copies of old photos

on the left is a 16 harness, colour and weave sample by Jean Barrick the tartan in the middle was designed and woven by Chris Howland, (1915 – 2004), born in Scotland and a professional weaver

I was lucky enough to know Chris and his daughter

the tartan was commissioned by Norfolk-Glenlyon, a private school in Victoria, and used for their uniforms

here is granddaughter Jillian with brother Iain, wearing the tartan on her first day of kindergarten

(she is in her first year of university now)

that is my boro quilt/blanket in the “new” category although it is recycled old weaving scraps

I cared for the permanent collection for many years and was delighted to see a few of the pieces “out in the public”

a few of the smaller items

impossible to photograph due to the reflection and very bright light shining directly above the display unit

several spinners were demonstrating  and I asked Brenda to show me how this spindle works (sorry, I’ve forgotten the name for it!)

it really is just a tapered length of finished wood with no whorl or hook – not all spindles are the same

thank you to everyone for all their work in putting the show together, designing and printing the name cards and researching the permanent collection

well done!

there is another celebration in the works – a fashion show and tea – later

and here is a confession – I “play around” with my photos, cropping, enhancing the colour, changing the size etc. using http://www.picmonkey.com

they’re my photos and I defend the right to do so!

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Going Batty in Wales permalink
    March 23, 2024 4:35 am

    That exhibition looks really interesting. It is good to see what people make – both professionals and amateurs. I am sure that is why shows like The Royal Welsh Show, its smaller County based cousins and the Eisteddfods, all of which have craft competitions, are so popular.

    Like

    • March 23, 2024 12:53 pm

      Sue – the exhibition committee did a really great job. I think it is extremely important that we show and celebrate the handmade.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Going Batty in Wales permalink
        March 24, 2024 3:52 am

        I agree. So few people understand how much work goes into doing things by hand. But handmade items are always one-offs and if made with love for a particular person they have a value beyond money.

        Like

      • March 24, 2024 10:57 am

        Sue – I know a few people who don’t “make” anything with their hands, they don’t write, paint/draw, play an instrument or any sports. I really wonder how the get through each day. Making has enriched my life I can’t imagine doing without it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Going Batty in Wales permalink
        March 26, 2024 3:31 am

        I think they watch day-time TV and die young of boredom! (and obesity, diabetes, heart disease or depression) Like you I cannot imagine doing nothing.

        Like

      • March 26, 2024 3:56 pm

        Sue – or spend all day on their phone/ipad/ or computer!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. March 22, 2024 2:48 pm

    Thank you for the photos. I’m still staggered at the fuss people make about improvements an image’s owner carried out. I’m sure I prefer what you think is a better representation!

    Like

    • March 22, 2024 10:08 pm

      Kate – I always crop pictures and tidy them up. all the fuss with Princess Kate was nasty and unforgivable – now people are realizing what jerks they have been.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.