Skip to content

memories

September 12, 2015

’tis the season!

for Fall Fairs

community fairs take me back to my childhood

Thursday I drove 40 miles (62 k) north to the Cowichan Exhibition Grounds

to judge weaving and spinning

on the way I stopped at Mill Bay

where, 47 years ago my ex and I had owned and operated Shoreacres Trailer Park and Marina

P1070564it was a beautiful day – that’s Mount Baker in the distance

the trailer park is gone

our beautiful old house with its interesting history

Scan_20150912the newspaper clipping states

“the 12 room house used to be a retreat for the lawyer of Chicago gangster Al Capone’

there was a room size walk in safe in the basement

sadly it has been replaced with condominiums

P1070571the fair was in the process of being set up

excited families arriving with crafts and produce and animals

P1070568inside the craft and produce building

P1070570the quilts had been judged and the veggies were arriving

P1070573I didn’t have time to look around

but this hand carved spindle whorl with a native salmon design caught my eye

one more fair to go!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. vdbolyard permalink
    September 15, 2015 7:37 am

    now that’s a spindle! interesting house…..

    Like

    • September 15, 2015 8:27 am

      Velma – traditional spindle of the native people of this area, there is a large display one at Vancouver airport and the Victoria Conference Center.

      Like

  2. Judy permalink
    September 14, 2015 5:43 pm

    Yes, memory lane is a real trip, isn’t it? I used to live in Gig Harbor on the water before it was “discovered” by the masses. My ex still lives in the same house! I am seldom in the vicinity but when our grown up kids go there to visit, I always have a strange feeling in the pit of my being– even tho we have grown past our differences and made peace long ago.

    Like

    • September 14, 2015 6:20 pm

      Judy – I hadn’t stopped there in years so was absolutely shocked to see the house was gone. Our second son was born while we were there and my Mom actually moved there to help us. Lots of memories

      Like

  3. September 14, 2015 2:12 pm

    the salmon whorl caught my eye too!

    Like

  4. September 13, 2015 2:54 pm

    Those trips down memory lane can be so bittersweet. I think I hate condominiums but I guess I really just don’t like change . . .

    Like

    • September 13, 2015 3:08 pm

      Kerry – so true, I resist change all the time knowing it is inevitable. Maybe why I love the community fairs, they’re still as small town as ever.

      Like

  5. myrajdunn permalink
    September 12, 2015 5:30 pm

    Oh my! That spindle whorl is very beautiful. I wouldn’t have a clue how to use it but would just want to look at it. I adore useful but beautiful things.

    Like

    • September 12, 2015 6:14 pm

      Myra – the spindle is big, it would be used with the short end of the shaft resting on the floor to spin thick yarn. he design is very nice.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.