Skip to content

weave a little, read a little

October 20, 2014

left on my back porch

equipment LeClerc 4 harness, 22 inch table loom

PLEASE – if you know anyone who would give it a new home let me know

I need it out of my kitchen

it would have to be picked up

$75 or best offer

P1050870and the postman brought these

The Peruvian Four-Selvaged Cloth (because Velma got it!)

published by the Fowler Museum at UCLA

P1050871why do I weave? – it’s the history, the people

would you weave incredible works of art sitting in the dirt while minding your babies

with just a few sticks for equipment??

and – Hitty – Her First Hundred Years  by Rachel Field

a wonderful American classic

the story of a little girl, Phoebe and her small wooden doll Mehitabel (Hitty for short)

a friend in Victoria has several Hitty’s and blogs here about their daily adventures

their story and pictures are enchanting

P1050867the green tea towels are finished

the small one on the right is the end of the warp – a little too short – it’s mine

P1050877they all have different borders – two different treadlings – and different greens in the weft

I would not be a good production weaver

weaving yards and yards of the same thing bores me to tears

P1050873once the sewing machine warmed up I finished this bag

P1050862the Amanita muscaria are back – bigger and more plentiful than ever

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2014 8:52 am

    “Like stray kittens”! I like that. Happens to me too. Perhaps we share the neighbourhood reputation as the Crazy Fibre Lady who takes in strays? I currently have a spinning wheel that needs to find a home too – other than mine.

    Like

    • October 22, 2014 9:45 am

      Louisa – it’s my own fault. Once upon a time I enjoyed finding looms for my students but not so much any more – some of them(the looms)over stay their welcome. Think I’d be happier with a kitten although I hope a daughter-in-law doesn’t read this!

      Like

  2. October 21, 2014 3:33 pm

    i would take that loom off your hands if i lived closer than 3,000 miles away… and you will love that book. i promise.

    Like

    • October 21, 2014 4:40 pm

      Velma – and I would gladly give it to you. A little disappointed in the number of pages given to “contemporary artists”. The Peruvian work is wonderful, haven’t had time to read the text, yet.

      Like

      • October 22, 2014 4:32 pm

        no, it will make sense when you read it. i felt that way exactly, but the text is worth it and is helpful. of course i would like it to be ALL peruvian with contemporary weavers trying to re-create the scaffolding.

        Like

      • October 22, 2014 5:05 pm

        Velma – oh, good. I need to make a block of time and sit down and read it properly. hoping to try a small piece.

        Like

  3. October 21, 2014 8:10 am

    Wait. People leave looms on your porch? Like stray kittens?

    Like

    • October 21, 2014 9:26 am

      Kerry – it was my neighbour a few doors down. He found it at the recycle dump and apparently was the only one who knew what it was, it needs some TLC and I don’t need a stray loom – but perhaps a kitten!

      Like

  4. emilysuzanna permalink
    October 21, 2014 5:58 am

    The tea towels are Beautiful! How do I go about formally ordering and paying? Right now am on East Coast, but email works.

    Like

    • October 21, 2014 7:33 am

      Suzanna – I will start weaving the red ones today so you may want to see them before you make a decision. Let me know which one/s you are interested in and I’ll send you close-up pictures. We can arrange paying by PayPal if that works for you.

      Like

  5. October 21, 2014 12:39 am

    ♥ the bag. and those amanitasare the stuff stories are made of;)

    Like

    • October 21, 2014 7:40 am

      Neki – I’ve been making the bag pattern for years, they are a lot of work but are nice to use. the Amanita are fantastic this year.

      Like

  6. October 20, 2014 6:30 pm

    I am excited that you got the Hitty book to read! Beautiful weavings as always, and gorgeous mushroom!

    Like

    • October 20, 2014 6:40 pm

      Kjerstin -can’t wait to climb into bed and start reading. The weather must have been perfect for the mushrooms, very large this year.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.