Skip to content

advancing

April 19, 2014

more colour combinations

P1040775

2/8 cotton purple and 2/12 rosy pink linen

just caught it as it was disappearing around the front beam

P10407742/8 cotton orange and deep raspberry linen

of all the colours orange is my least favorite, I rarely use it

it seems like a badly behaved narcissist, always jumping up and down shouting “look at me, look at me”

the linen is struggling to give it some dignity

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2014 6:34 am

    making the colors work in textiles challenges one in ways so different from say, paint. from that perspective, i love all the colors, but i hate some, too!

    Like

    • April 21, 2014 8:21 am

      Velma – colour blending is one of the more problematic aspects of weaving – can’t just paint over that ugly little bit.

      Like

  2. April 21, 2014 5:01 am

    I think orange, in extreme moderation, can give some zip. I don’t care for purple, either, but I think it looks great with the rose in your first photo.

    Like

    • April 21, 2014 8:24 am

      Kerry – I love those zippy little splashes. colour in weaving is all about the “right” combinations, even a slight change in tint or shade can make an enormous difference

      Like

      • April 21, 2014 11:16 am

        I’m getting ready to warp my first loom project (!) and have chosen very subtle (not to say boring) yarns and my teacher suggested a couple little accent threads of orange and gold–what a difference it makes!

        Like

      • April 21, 2014 11:26 am

        Kerry – when you start weaving the weft yarns across the warp you will see the real change. If the class/teacher allows try weaving with several different weft colours – the wilder the better. happy to hear you are starting to weave.

        Like

  3. April 20, 2014 10:18 am

    Ummm…I’m not at all an extrovert in the true sense, but orange is my favourite colour! I always like to think it’s because I was born 2 days after Halloween? I not only love pumpkin orange but brick, rust, burnt orange and all the more muted shades.

    The only colour I’m not fond of at all is pink. Though I do like it better together with orange! 😉

    Like

    • April 20, 2014 12:20 pm

      Louisa – my Mom used to say “it would be a strange world if we all liked the same thing” -and indeed it would. I’m not keen on pale, girly pink, either.

      Like

  4. April 19, 2014 8:18 pm

    You are right about orange. There is a system that uses colours to represent different personality types, and orange is definitely the extrovert. You did a good job keeping it in check.

    Like

    • April 19, 2014 8:53 pm

      Heather -I once wove 27 meters of orange combined with yellow, black, green and burgundy for skirts for the Ukrainian dance group, then they asked me to sew them. I almost quit weaving!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.