Skip to content

sunshiny day

June 5, 2013

my world, seen through a fine warp of mixed cotton and linen

studio 027

  it is sunny and warm, the indigo vat is finally happy

shibori 178

I was waiting to dye this final piece of woven shibori, posted here  and here

very pleased with the results

shibori 180

and it really is MUCH easier to remove the gathering threads when the piece is dry

usually I am too impatient to wait but it takes a fraction of the time and you don’t risk cutting the fabric –  if only you wait!

shibori 182

while hanging out over the dye pot I decided to top dye the first part of this warp

the pattern wasn’t very distinct, now it is an overall blue with just a shadow of the original design

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2013 1:07 am

    It makes me want to write about something sunshiny. And so, I’ll write about my sheep.

    Like

  2. June 7, 2013 1:25 am

    woven shibori greats and add to that aizome. can’t get better.

    Like

  3. June 6, 2013 3:26 am

    i really really need to discipline myself and try woven shibori. beautiful results, jean.

    Like

  4. myrajdunn permalink
    June 5, 2013 5:12 pm

    Oh wow Jean! My respect for your artistry continues to grow.

    Like

  5. June 5, 2013 2:03 pm

    Beautiful indigo dyed Shibori. I usually can’t wait for the piece to dry either before cutting the pattern threads.

    Like

  6. June 5, 2013 1:59 pm

    I really like the over-dyed bit. It’s sort of mysterious. I’m going to try and wait next time to remove the threads…maybe.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.