Skip to content

weaving woes

April 7, 2013

this was supposed to be a quick, easy and relaxing project

a blanket, to be donated as part of a textile event

weaving-finishing 272

it has had its problems from the start

the yarn came from a studio sale. the white is a thick and thin cotton and the slubs are pilling badly in both heddles and reed. I have tried sizing it with spray starch which seems to solve the problem but now the new can of starch has clogged up and just splutters!!

the coloured yarns are a delight, thank goodness, from Greece they are more like a tubular shoe lace

weaving-finishing 266

it is the full width of the loom, much wider than I’ve woven in a long time and I had to make some adjustments to the loom

weaving-finishing 274

after I weave a heading I weave in a fine plastic knitting needle to create a space for hemstitching – this time with a finer thread

weaving-finishing 276

the pattern is a log cabin plaid, even here there is a mistake in the change of pattern but the white cotton is too fragile to “unweave” so it will have to stay

just keeping my fingers crossed that both the white cotton and the weaver survive!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 2:28 am

    comforting to know i’m not alone in weaving woe-land 😉

    Like

    • April 8, 2013 8:13 am

      Neki – I’ll be happier when I return to the yarns/patterns I normally prefer
      Myra – thanks, it is going to be bright and cheerful

      Like

  2. Myra Dunn permalink
    April 7, 2013 11:49 pm

    Very pretty, Jean. I love the colours.

    Like

  3. April 7, 2013 8:02 pm

    You have my sympathies over the white wool. It looks exactly like some yellow wool I knit a hat out of for my youngest when he was a newborn. It was a nightmare. My wool was a “gift”; obviously the giver test drove it and wasn’t thrilled either.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.