Skip to content

more of everything

December 14, 2012

more “log cabin” student weaving

students 118

learning to weave involves a very steep learning curve

I love it when new students reach the aha!  moment

students 117

often it is when they can see the pattern developing

students 119

more shifu yarn, cut at .3mm and plyed with reeled silk

shifu 064

mordanted with alum, dyed with homegrown madder

I generally get orange with my madder but the silk is dark red – yes!

the little sample is handspun Merino

buttons

more old buttons, mostly plastic this time

buttons 088

hand-cut hardwood stamps

buttons 087

 border stamp with a corner block, they match-up perfectly

I’ve almost finished the shopping – it’s such a relief! – now I can hide out in the studio

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2012 6:21 pm

    Don’t tell me you found the buttons and stamps at the thrift store! You’re the queen of the hunt!

    Like

    • December 14, 2012 7:56 pm

      Heather – “antique” stores but cheap! I love the hunt, it’s more important than the stuff.

      Like

  2. lagriccia permalink
    December 15, 2012 10:39 am

    I love the hardwood stamps, I found a couple last week at the market and I felt so lucky!
    I will have to try madder, I have an idea about a red and white embroidery. So many ideas, so little time….but you know everything about this.

    Like

    • December 15, 2012 10:44 am

      Blandina – because I grind up the madder in an old blender I use the wood chips to wrap in cloth for eco dyeing. The stamps have chisel marks on them and are very finely carved

      Like

  3. December 18, 2012 2:59 am

    the stamps are great. and hats off to you for your madder red!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

