Skip to content

back to the loom

May 29, 2012

since returning from Japan I’ve had difficulty getting “back in the groove”

couldn’t seem to find the START button – I just forgot where it was!

at the loom, of course

 

weavers spend much of their time alone, just throwing the shuttle and thinking

I enjoyed my 6 months at Kawashima weaving, usually in silence with only the radio and the clack of looms but with other weavers all around

when I first came home I emptied my indigo vat.  To soak up the last few inches I put in some rags and a sheet I’d been saving for sakiori, they were all cotton/poly blends. It wasn’t the best idea as it took days to rinse them.

I’d bought a multi coloured sheet at a charity shop, it’s faded colours look perfect with the faded indigo.

I like to tear sheets outside so that all the fibre dust is blown away. Rags from clothing generally need to be cut because of the smaller, shaped pieces. I always cut old silk as it is fragile and doesn’t tear easily.

the warp is indigo dyed cotton and black tussah silk

the garden has been taking up a great deal of my time

 

“the President” is magnificent

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2012 3:35 am

    re-entry takes a while–beautiful bloom!

    Like

    • May 31, 2012 7:18 am

      Velma – I seldom leave an un-dressed loom, if I can just sit down and weave I’m instantly back on track. the trick is to remember that.

      Like

  2. May 30, 2012 2:46 pm

    You create and are surrounded by beauty. I look forward to seeing the sakiori jacket.

    Like

  3. May 30, 2012 1:35 am

    thanks to my on line weaving friends i don’t feel isolated now.
    my president clematis got badly wind-whipped and died, but there’s yours to enjoy.

    Like

  4. Blandina Aracne permalink
    May 29, 2012 9:11 pm

    I am curious to see what beauties you will be weaving!

    Like

  5. May 29, 2012 6:10 pm

    Didn’t answer your first question – I’m fine – about to go on a three-day quilting retreat, something I do every year. It’s always fun. The challenge this year is to make a mug mat and I’m the judge because I issued the challenge. Can’t wait to see what the girls come up with. I’ve done one myself and will put it on my blog after the retreat.

    Like

  6. May 29, 2012 6:06 pm

    That clematis is a whopper. How beautiful! I think if I’m going to crochet a rug I’d hafta iron the half inch strips in half to make them stronger to pull on for the crochet. Or maybe cut them an inch wide and then iron them in half. I have a very large crochet hook (15.00mm) which I think might do the trick. Any advice?

    Like

    • May 29, 2012 7:51 pm

      I’m not much of a crochet-er so not able to give advice. Depending on how thick you want the “yarn’ I think 1/2 ” doubled would be strong enough. If you do any spinning you might consider plying the rag with a yarn? Have a great time on the retreat, tell us all about it when you get back.

      Like

  7. May 29, 2012 4:01 pm

    Wow Jean that clematis is gorgeous! What a magnificent colour.How wide are the strips you make for sakiori? I have several patterns for crocheted rugs using sheet strips and have been thinking of doing one for a while.

    Like

    • May 29, 2012 4:06 pm

      Hi Myra – how you doing?? The rag strips are approx. 1/2″ but it depends on how worn and thin the material is and how fine I want the weaving to be – this is for a jacket. Don’t want it to weigh a ton! The blooms on the clematis are 6-8″ across and it blooms from June to Sept. a beauty.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.