Skip to content

silk bojagi

January 12, 2012

silk bojagi – 27″ x 32″

 hand stitched

 natural dyes including;  indigo, lac, cochineal, lichen, madder and logwood on the border

shibori samples

the weight of the French seams gives it a delightful “hand” and drape

 

fabric triangles in one corner

it brightens up the January gloom.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 8:02 pm

    Almost missed this one. How gorgeous the silk in natural dyed give in the piece. I like the little pretty points at the corner. I’m working on DGD’s bojagi too. Hope to get it done soon. Might add something extra like yours – thanks Jean.

    Like

    • January 15, 2012 8:53 pm

      a traditional “little extra” is the bat knot – bats signifying good luck – only one in a corner. I must admit I didn’t think it was good luck when I got one in my very long hair one evening in Singapore many years ago.

      Like

  2. January 14, 2012 10:23 am

    i love the beautiful drape of this one. gloomy here, but finally with snow!

    Like

  3. January 14, 2012 12:49 am

    What a lovely piece, such an amazing choice of colours.
    I am with Lis, I would like to see it in Japan.

    Like

  4. January 13, 2012 11:04 am

    This is breathtakingly beautiful, so delicate to look at, like stained glass as neki desu commented. I adore all the detail too, it’s a wonderful creative treasure. I would love to see it in real life, would you consider bringing it to Japan with you in April? Have a great weekend, Lis x

    Like

    • January 13, 2012 11:19 am

      thanks, Lis. I’m going to travel light – or as much as possible! but this is light and it is big enough to wear as a scarf so I’ll try to remember to take it. looking forward to meeting you.

      Like

      • January 13, 2012 11:22 am

        Am aiming to travel light too – I think we might end up bringing one or two things home from Japan! Looking forward to meeting you too, have a good weekend.

        Like

  5. January 13, 2012 1:29 am

    a stained glass fabric bojagi!

    Like

  6. January 12, 2012 5:21 pm

    Very pretty. Lovely mix of colours.

    Like

  7. January 12, 2012 5:04 pm

    so lovely! and much needed this winter.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.