Skip to content

experimenting

June 23, 2024

for as long as I’ve been weaving I still get that happy feeling when the end of a warp rolls around the back beam

then the question is “what’s next?”

the collection of Japanese paper, recently re-discovered, has me experimenting

first, a small piece I dipped in the indigo vat several years ago -it looked fragile and is very palebefore cutting I tried painting it with homemade ink using natural plant materials

the ink was also made several years ago following information in the book Make Ink by Jason Logan

it was steamed after spinning to set the twist  – and lost much of the colour (it is a little darker than the picture shows)

and fuzzy but still strong

so if I weave with the paper yarns can I use the fabric like a canvas and paint and/or write on it??

there is a collection of different paper yarns made in the past

dyed with kakishibu (brown), sumi ink (black), tea and of course indigo

 what to use for the warp yarn?

questions and more questions

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2024 1:17 am

    I can’t wrap my head around the fact that paper can become yarn, it’s magic!

    Like

    • June 27, 2024 10:40 am

      Hannah – handmade paper is made with plant fibre not pulp like commercial papers and still has the strength and texture of plant fibres – (flax and hemp for instance) and makes a very strong yarn that can be worn and washed.

      Like

  2. Going Batty in Wales permalink
    June 26, 2024 7:26 am

    Another interesting exploration!

    Like

  3. June 24, 2024 3:25 pm

    I love the idea that you could write on it. But would it have too much ‘tooth’ to use a pen? Perhaps brush writing?

    Like

    • June 25, 2024 9:48 am

      Kate – I was only planning to use the handmade ink and that would require using a brush, hoping the ink would spread a little and blend. Will try sampling first.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.