Skip to content

memories

November 13, 2017

November’s pages – finished early

only one more month to go!

it was not my intention to dig into old photos when I started this

it just took on a life of its own

that’s me on the left, with sister Myrna

Mom knitted the sweaters

I remember really disliking the colours – yellow and brown

looking through the pictures I realize that the majority of our clothes were handmade

I made paper patterns before stitching

which reminded me of the hours spent dressing paper dolls

on the loom – a 2 yard sample of the twill treadling used for the tea towels

daughter-in-law found these Irish linen hankies in an estate sale

pristine — still in their original box with green ribbon

I wonder how many were brought back from a holiday abroad?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2017 2:07 pm

    Jean Betts IS Original!!!

    Like

    • November 13, 2017 2:33 pm

      Kjerstin – sometimes I wonder where the ideas come from… Mother gave me my labels years ago.

      Like

  2. vdbolyard permalink
    November 13, 2017 2:44 pm

    i love how you made patters before stitching.

    Like

    • November 13, 2017 2:58 pm

      Velma – I made them all over the pattern of the first dress, so they would all be the same size

      Like

      • vdbolyard permalink
        November 14, 2017 9:59 am

        of course you did! good thinking

        Like

      • November 14, 2017 10:11 am

        Velma – sometimes I wonder where those ” ah ha” ideas come from, it must be from years and years of making and becomes instinctual.

        Like

  3. November 15, 2017 4:43 am

    I’m going to miss your stitched journal . . . unless you plan on continuing for another year?! It has been so creative and revealing. And, from the respective of someone who sells vintage linens, the answer to the Irish hankies question is bazillions!

    Like

    • November 15, 2017 8:29 am

      Kerry – the journal will finish but there might be a new project for a new year. The hankies are lovely but did anyone use them for their intended purpose?

      Like

  4. November 19, 2017 9:15 am

    i can still see the you in that photo in the recent photos i’ve seen of you.
    i’d treat myself and use those hankies, what the hell!

    Like

    • November 19, 2017 10:36 am

      Neki – thinking of how to use the hankies in a stitching project. The pigtails were always coming loose and the hair ribbons lost in the northern woods!

      Like

Leave a Reply

