Skip to content

a not so lazy summer

August 9, 2017

in attempting to tame the fuzzies

I have combined the weaving with rags

the surface is uneven so it is more decorative than useful

maybe a bathmat?

the only good thing about it is that some stash, the chenille yarn – and rags – are being used

and I like the colours

difficult to justify spending precious hours weaving something that will never be very good

I’m forcing myself to weave a little every day in order to finish as quickly as possible

on the bright side, the journal pages are finished early this month

it seemed obvious to put the shifu samples on a page woven with secret messages

with the handspun cotton

and a drawdown for the 10 harness double two-tie unit weave beside it

three full sheets of kiraku kozo are spun, with several more ready to cut and spin

and in the garden the fig tree is enormous

the fruit is large and abundant

I can’t reach anywhere near the top

and the lazy raccoons are eating from the lowest branches

oh, yum-m

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kristin permalink
    August 9, 2017 3:51 pm

    Your kozo is gorgeous! Alas, I came too early and missed the figs 😦

    Like

  2. August 9, 2017 5:21 pm

    I am sure that “lazy” is not in your vocabulary!

    Like

    • August 9, 2017 6:43 pm

      Kjerstin – I do try to just sit and think – but it doesn’t last long! My hands have to be doing something. Of course, I don’t think you spend much time without work in your hands.

      Like

  3. August 10, 2017 12:00 pm

    oh, my, those figs!!! So much envy here but very happy you can enjoy. always wonderful to see how conscientious you are at work.

    Like

    • August 10, 2017 1:03 pm

      Aimee – I’m going to a final conference meeting tomorrow, think I’ll take a bucket of figs! I’m on a shifu trip, have to buy more sumi ink, not much choice here.

      Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    August 10, 2017 1:24 pm

    well, it looks like i have to visit asap. figs AND shifu. and, of course, the indomitable jean! good work, you.

    Like

    • August 10, 2017 3:50 pm

      Velma – and the figs don’t last long in the heat we are having and as soon as the raccoons discover them. There is also hemp fibre I would be happy to pass on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

