Skip to content

time flies

July 30, 2017

time flies

as we treadle lightly

having fun shifu weaving

weaving on the floor loom is not so happy

using the woven chenille yarn as weft

struggling!!

having to place each weft in by hand – after un-twisting it all

and then beat it in by hand

it is taking far too long and the results are not satisfactory

I know I’m not going to continue but I’m waiting for a miracle to happen

 the warp yarn can be saved

but what to do with all the weft??

back to stitching in the evenings

much more relaxing

we haven’t had any rain/moisture in three weeks

forest fires are overwhelming the interior of the province

I water every day

even nature isn’t perfect

occasionally – almost

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2017 5:56 am

    Holy cow–what are the flowers in that last photo? They are spectacular! I am so sad about the chenille project, after all the time you spent on the fuzzies. But, if I know you, you’ll figure out something creative to do with it!

    Like

    • July 31, 2017 8:20 am

      Kerry – it’s a fuschia in a hanging basket, with luck (and a little care) I can get it through the winter.
      The most creative thing to do with the fuzzies is to stop wasting time and let them go, hard to do!

      Like

  2. July 31, 2017 8:36 am

    I don’t remember having much trouble at all weaving a small twice-woven rug. I do recall winding the chenille carefully flat and untwisted onto a ski shuttle to facilitate passing it through the shed. But I’m sure I didn’t fiddle with it much after that. I was a relatively new weaver back then! Many decades later I still use that rug on my loom bench though I never made another one. Maybe you’re just being too fussy? Whap it in there and call it good!

    Like

    • July 31, 2017 9:44 am

      Louisa – a few years ago when I made the chenille weft I also made a cotton one. It got woven into a bath mat and has been used daily for several years. I, too, do not remember having a problem weaving it but the fact that I left this one to finish leads me to believe I wasn’t impressed with the process. This yarn is wool ( some of it handspun!) and behaves differently, I think the cut yarn is too short. Sigh!

      Like

  3. August 1, 2017 3:21 am

    sending over some rain from here. what about machine stitching the chenille bunched like in the photo to create a stable fabric? then you can act on it by adding bits of fabric or whatever.

    Like

    • August 1, 2017 7:35 am

      Neki – the colour is the only thing I like about the chenille, don’t think it is worth wasting any more time.

      Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    August 2, 2017 3:44 am

    i am vexed that i didn’t look at your wonderful book! and that chenille–it would drive me crazy, too.

    Like

    • August 2, 2017 8:07 am

      Velma – and I am vexed that we didn’t have enough time together – so, there will be another time! I’m leaving the chenille to just perk in the back of my mind for a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

