Skip to content

reeds and other things

July 12, 2017

life is slowly returning to normal

one of the last show items that wasn’t picked up has now gone home

the fairy’s fishing rod (Dierama) is happy to get some water

finished spinning the 2 ply silk – warp for a future project

I spin in the evening when I’m too tired to think

slowly working on my bamboo reed

the cord is tied in a half-hitch

 the knot worked on opposite sides of the top and bottom posts (running vertically)

the end piece is inserted after each thin slat and hammered gently

can you see the tiny grooves cut out to accommodate the cord?

the turn of the half-hitch alternates between each thin bamboo slat

see the difference?

two successive knots create a lark’s head knot

after each individual knot, once they are snugged up tightly and in a neat, straight row

 gently hammer in place

I covered my hammer with felt and cotton

unfortunately I was a little heavy-handed and my end piece has split

oops, now what?

5 1/2 inches ( 14 cm.)

approximately 22 slots per inch

 I was trying for 24 epi but the size of the cord determines the spacing

pulling the cord tightly between each slat I now have a nasty cut on my index finger

will wait a few days to continue – until all the cord is used

can’t wait to see how long my reed will be

I didn’t find any books at the conference that I either didn’t have or was interested in

so I ordered Stitched Shibori by Jane Callender

ordered from Book Depository in England

http://www.bookdepository.com

they ship for free, it arrived in two days from Toronto, excellent service

I took a workshop from Jane at Maiwa, her work is stunning

wasn’t quite so impressed with her teaching methods

my blog written immediately after the workshop can be seen here

(it is the comments that are interesting)

the book is packed with information, diagrams and pictures

as I haven’t had time to read it I can’t give a review or recommendation – yet

approximately 8 feet tall, the fishing rods sway in the breeze

difficult to photograph

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin permalink
    July 12, 2017 1:05 pm

    Maybe your end piece didn’t split because of hammering. It could have been because the slit in the end (where the cord goes through and knots) split up to your carved notch. I had this happen before I started the second reed. I determined it was better to actually use a saw to make that slit (as far away from carved notches as possible) and make more space for the thick yarn to prevent splitting. The part that broke off I had to repair with glue. I threaded the end of the cord through the “X” and glued it to secure instead of the traditional “slit/knot”. Oh, this sounds complicated! Of course I could be way off since I can’t tell from your pictures. Perhaps after finishing the reed, you can remove that piece, repair it, or replace it with a new one?

    Like

    • July 12, 2017 2:34 pm

      Kristin – thanks for the help, I think you are right. I have another piece of bamboo Bryan left that I’m using to do the hammering and have glued and clamped the original. Good idea to secure through the X and glue. I figured I could always visit Bryan and get another piece – ha ha! So happy to have net you, now I can put a face to the comment.

      Like

  2. July 13, 2017 5:32 am

    This is more like it–back to your own explorations and creations! Making your own reed–what a commitment!

    Like

    • July 13, 2017 7:32 am

      Kerry – it was so thoughtful of Bryan to bring an extra set of supplies for me as I couldn’t take the class. We didn’t have much time for a private lesson so I hope I’m doing it right. It is very satisfying to make such a basic piece of equipment, can’t wait to weave with it.

      Like

  3. July 13, 2017 6:04 am

    Enjoying the process of making your own reed. One of those repetitive activities that is so satisfying.

    Like

  4. July 27, 2017 4:24 pm

    Dear Jean, my friend Velma, told me about you and your work. Wondering about your comment when you said you took a workshop from Jane and wasn’t impressed with her teaching methods. I’ve often thought about taking a class. Could you share more w/me? info@christinemauersberger.com

    Like

    • July 28, 2017 10:15 am

      Christine – I’ve sent you an email.

      Like

      • gretchen huggett permalink
        August 10, 2017 10:03 am

        I also would like to know about your experience with Jane. She is teaching at Penland in the spring and I was thinking of attending.

        I love your blog, you are such an inspiiration. Gretchen ghuggett@aol.com

        Like

      • August 11, 2017 9:37 am

        Gretchen – without knowing what your level of experience with shibori is I would suggest reading the book. it is very detailed and covers different techniques. The illustrations and pictures are excellent.

        Like

      • August 11, 2017 9:58 am

        For @Gretchen Huggett. I purchased her book and it is amazingly detailed. I am looking forward to digging in.

        Like

      • August 11, 2017 12:00 pm

        cmauers – we received very comprehensive notes at the workshop and many are exactly as in the book with a great deal more information on dyes etc.

        Like

  5. Bryan permalink
    August 3, 2017 7:13 pm

    Hi Jean,
    I’m in Melbourne …. I extended my trip to Australia. Good to see the reed materialize. I’ll cut bamboo again this autumn and give the workshop another shot. I hope to give the entire workshop from reedbuidling to making the rest of a loom and actually set one up and weave.

    Hope all is good.
    Big hug,
    Bryan

    Like

    • August 3, 2017 7:43 pm

      Bryan – Hope the Hokusai exhibition was wonderful. I’ve just taken the weaving off the table loom, the reed worked perfectly. I want another one. The first time I went to a workshop I was hoping we would weave on a backstrap loom (didn’t know I’d be the only weaver!). So, if you are planning on making backstrap looms put me on the list – make it quick, I’m not getting any younger. Too hot here to hug anyone, Vancouver has air quality warnings from all the fires burning in the Kootenays.

      Like

Leave a Reply

