Skip to content

celebrating

July 9, 2017

at the Conference we celebrated Canada’s 150 birthday

with an outdoor tea

the weather was perfect

the food was abundantly good

those Canadian flags?

white chocolate – yum-m

I celebrated by starting the July pages for my monthly journal

one page for Canada and one page for the Conference

the fabric is from a quilting store, it came in lengths of three panels

maybe I’ll make toss cushions out of the other two

the Conference name tags were designed by Alison Irwin

woven with recycled paper strips

Alison was an instructor and her entry in the show was a chess set woven in the same way

on a handwoven “chess board”

 

Bryan brought the first cut of his own green tea

it has an almost sweet, gentle flavor

at the banquet I met a lady who has started this business

she has exciting plans for more videos – check it out

off to the garden to try to regain control!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2017 3:16 am

    Happy birthday to Canada, our good neighbor! Your pages for July are perfect–the two big occasions had to be memorialized. What a clever design of the name tags, and for that chess set!

    Like

    • July 10, 2017 8:04 am

      Kerry – don’t know exactly how many name tag pockets were made – at least 600. The chess set is charming.

      Like

  2. July 10, 2017 11:43 am

    The conference was amazing and I had a really great time! It was especially delightful to spend a little time with you in person finally, Jean. I just got back from a camping trip that began right after I got home from Victoria so now my garden is a total jungle! Good thing it’s a bit overcast today. I seem to be having trouble getting motivated.

    Like

    • July 10, 2017 1:17 pm

      Louisa – finished my expense report today and when I tried to attach it to email and send Excel blocked it – beyond frustrated!! Now I have to get in the car and deliver in person – what a novel idea! Garden is still waiting for me. next is a 2 page general report….

      Like

Leave a Reply

