Skip to content

loom time

June 4, 2017

everything is blooming

including the weeds – and there isn’t much time for gardening

finally found time to warp the loom

threaded 2 dark, 2 light

in the reed the dark is threaded one thread per dent

and the light is two threads together in one dent

it is difficult to see in a 20 dent reed

I made a mistake and had to re-sley – from the middle!

weave structure is still double two-tie on 10 harnesses

with only two colours in the silk warp

and all the colour changes in the handspun silk and cotton weft

all the cotton is wound into balls

and I’ve been cutting a stamp for the book pages

that’s all the creative work going on here

I seem to be in a purple mood

isn’t nature wonderful

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2017 8:27 pm

    Jean, you are amazing! One of nature’s wonders, indeed!

    Like

    • June 4, 2017 9:33 pm

      Heather – well, thank you but I’m a little bug eaten and ragged around the edges this summer.

      Like

  2. June 4, 2017 9:01 pm

    Isn’t that classic? Threading errors always appear in the middle! Looks good now though. Not to worry about the weeds. They’ll still be there when you have more time. I’m currently pulling up the most ridiculous amount of alyssum seedlings. Who knew that would happen after I used it for a ground cover last year?

    Like

    • June 4, 2017 9:31 pm

      Louisa – what is one woman’s weed is anothers flower and yes, they’ll all be waiting for me next month.

      Like

  3. vdbolyard permalink
    June 5, 2017 3:35 am

    ah, purple…at my 40th birthday i was given ‘when i’m an old woman i shall wear purple’. i think this warp is lovely, i imagine the hand of this textile. but, oh, threading errors right in the middle!

    Like

  4. June 5, 2017 4:38 am

    It’s comforting to know you still make mistakes . . .

    Like

  5. Kristin permalink
    June 6, 2017 5:20 pm

    This is looking really neat with all the textures and colors. I like the way the black and white play with the more subtle “natural” colors. And the contrast between the handspun and commercial yarns is nice.

    Any news on the payment issue? Or is there someone else I should contact because I know you are filled to the gills with more important duties ;). Thank you!

    Like

    • June 6, 2017 6:01 pm

      Kristin – I’m enjoying the natural colours but madly spinning as I don’t think there is enough! When anybody registered and click on guild member they would then have seen a drop box with all the associated guilds, he could not have continued unless he choose one. Maybe the Tucson Guild is an affiliate, I can find out, are you a member? Email me at juriedshow@anwgconference2017.com and we’ll try to work it out.

      Like

  6. June 12, 2017 5:42 am

    why is it that mistakes never happen towards the selvedges? grrrr. nice contrast of colors and textures.

    Like

    • June 12, 2017 7:21 am

      Neki – the black in the warp was difficult to see and I thought I was being very careful. Thank goodness I saw the mistake before I wove a yard!

      Like

Leave a Reply

