Skip to content

loose threads

April 14, 2017

finished sakiori

17 placemats, 4 sets of 4 with an extra one at the end of the warp

the next warp?

double two-tie unit weave on 10 harnesses

with two weights of yarn

what was I thinking?

tea towels using up small quantities from the stash

a towel for the conference exchange

it seemed like a good idea at the time

but

this is not quick

seen from the back beam

 it needs to be happily weaving for the studio tour

and there is endless paperwork for the conference shows

the lawns need to be mowedlooks like I should be making dandelion wine

or what about a goat?

the chequered lilies – Fritillaria meleagris – are slowly spreading

the pattern is one of nature’s small miracles

and the lady’s mantle – Alchemilla mollis – collects morning raindrops

now it’s back to threading the loom

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2017 4:38 pm

    So beautiful, all of it. Happy Easter, Jean.

    Like

  2. Kristin permalink
    April 14, 2017 5:24 pm

    I’d totally mow your lawn for you if I was there… I’ll be there in June for Bryan’s reed class!! Can it wait until then?

    Like

    • April 14, 2017 6:00 pm

      Kristin – thank you for the offer, wonderful you’re coming to the conference, we’ll get to meet in person. I’ll miss Bryan’s workshop, I’m hanging the shows at that time. Hoping to get a private lesson or I’ll have to go to Japan! Lawns are done, grandson phoned just as I finished to say he would mow them for me – spurred on by his dad I’m guessing.

      Like

      • Kristin permalink
        April 15, 2017 11:03 am

        It’s good to have some helping hands around. I’m glad family is close by. I look forward to the conference :). It would be such a shame to have to visit Japan again!

        Like

Leave a Reply

