Skip to content

making a difference

February 11, 2017

Victoria missed the worst of winter, the snow has melted into dirty little patches

the hellebore are blooming!

p1110258and

” I sit beside the fire and think of all that I have seen, of meadow-flowers and butterflies in summers that have been; Of yellow leaves and gossamer in autumns that there were, with morning mist and silver sun and wind upon my hair. I sit beside the fire and think of how the world will be when winter comes without a spring that I shall never see. For still there are so many things that I have never seen: in every wood in every spring there is a different green… “

                                           J.R.R. Tolkien

p1110256with boxes of small scraps to choose from

the wardrobe of tiny kimonos is expanding

p1110261even a boro one

  in the center, shibori lining from my hanten,  dyed and stitched at Bryan’s

these will go into “the book”

 I’m planning a group to frame

and the weaving proceeds, slowly

p1110262

but at this anxious time in this crazy world

I wonder what tea towels have to do with anything?

in looking for ways I can personally make a small difference

I came across this

https://plancanada.ca

in the top menu click on “because I am a girl”

lots of choice, pass it on

because together we CAN make a difference

6 Comments leave one →
  1. vdbolyard permalink
    February 12, 2017 9:59 am

    your post gives me hope today.

    Like

    • February 12, 2017 10:42 am

      Velma – I swing between hope and despair – there is not much in between! Avoiding the news and yet drawn to it. Waiting to see what comes out of the meeting tomorrow, Trudeau is skating on thin ice. If we still had Harper “they” would be holding hands and arranging visits with the Queen!! Poor Queenie – I’m not a fan but don’t know how she will handle the big D, hopefully she can be indisposed. The resulting tweet would be very interesting.

      Like

  2. February 13, 2017 4:02 am

    We had missed most of winter, too, until last night, that is! Now it’s a total winter wonderland outside, with tons of snow blowing itself into crazy sculptures. I can completely relate to your mood swings–all I want to do is sit quietly and weave or sew but then, when I do, I feel like it’s too trivial a way to be spending time.

    Like

    • February 13, 2017 8:24 am

      Kerry – the weather news from eastern Canada is horrible, hope you don’t get that. Heat in Australia is unbearable, weather around the world is scary. time to go weave more tea towels!

      Like

  3. emilysuzanna permalink
    February 18, 2017 7:09 pm

    Hi Jean, I have been thinking about this so much and doing my best to not get caught up in all the craziness and drama, which is not so easy. Also I am drawn to that question of what tea towels have to do with anything, and my answer is…lots! They are a sign of rationality and serenity and beauty. They are an antidote to all the other stuff. I love my tea towels; it gives me happiness to unfold them and use them and to know they were made by skilled, caring hands. In this way they are a symbol which nourishes my hope and faith that somehow we will make it through this muddle. ❤

    Like

    • February 18, 2017 9:00 pm

      Suzanne – beautiful words, it is the small, everyday, normal things and the people connected to them that will get us through these crazy times, we can never lose hope and faith. I’ve been thinking of you, seeing all the terrible weather on the news. Are you safe? Now, too much water, how can anyone deny climate change?
      Stay dry, hugs. Jean

      Like

Leave a Reply

