Skip to content

calming the mind

January 19, 2017

what do you do to alleviate stress?

other than meditating every morning – for the last 25 years

daytime I weave – just throwing the shuttle back and forth is calming

that’s why I don’t use the fly shuttle that came with my loom

evenings I spin – mostly on a drop spindle

if I spin on my wheel I get into production mode and that is not relaxing

work for the conference is becoming more intense

p1110159so I put a longer than usual tea towel warp on the loom

p1110160and am weaving my version of Log Cabin plaid

although it is plain weave the colour changes need careful attention

hopefully weaving will keep my mind off worrying

update on the conference registration – we have already met the breakeven point

a great relief

after the initial technical glitches were speedily fixed by committee members

thank you – they know who they are!

the response has been very encouraging

thanks to all who have registered or are interested.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2017 3:10 pm

    you can ask for help, talk to a friend, relax with a cup of tea……I’m only an hour away if there is anything I can do for you. Come to think of it, I need to be in your neighborhood soon to get them to fix my eyeglasses. We are overdue for a visit……hugs…Marion

    Like

    • January 19, 2017 4:37 pm

      Hi Marion – love hearing from you, a visit would be great. Have you decided to register for the conference? There are some interesting workshops, some filling up quickly. I will be hanging the shows so don’t plan to take anything but hope to sneak into a couple and hang out for a few minutes. Let me know when you are coming down.

      Like

      • January 19, 2017 6:30 pm

        looking at the classes and having trouble deciding what I might take. I’m thinking of looking into volunteering with a preference for assisting in workshops….I’ll be in touch

        Like

  2. January 20, 2017 3:43 am

    It’s so good to have a routine to fall back on, to manage stress. I do a stretching/yoga

    Like

  3. January 20, 2017 3:44 am

    Oops! Stretching/yoga routine almost every morning and I have my hand quilting. But I also can get into a mellow state by throwing that shuttle–it doesn’t always happen, probably because of my overall lack of experience, but when it does, it’s wonderful! SO glad to hear the conference is looking good!

    Like

    • January 20, 2017 8:33 am

      Kerry – I will be very mellow once this conference is over, we are all relieved that the initial response has been so positive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

