Skip to content

fragments

January 13, 2017

once off the loom it took some time to put “pen to paper”!

p1110151

the pages are all double so the back of any stitching doesn’t show

 it also gives the pages a nice weight

I’m planning on hard covers with some form of stitching on the spine

p1110151red weft is woven at the folded edge so it will show when all the pages are stitched

p1110150and on the front edge, different pastel colours

p1110153

 the inside of the front cover and the title page

p1110154several titles came to mind

I choose “fragments” stitched on kakishibu dyed linen

it sets the tone

p1110156I love to wander but  do occasionally feel lost

not sure the twisted fringe will stay but it’s fine for now

and I might get much better at stitching letters

p1110158this book was a gift, an elegant blend of Japanese and Scandinavian style

  I haven’t done any work from it so now is a good time

p1110157what better for January than snowflakes

some stitched ones yet to do

a doily tatted by one of my Mom”s friends

she was my piano teacher when I was young

and also the junior choir leader – I couldn’t keep a tune to save my soul

but she always encouraged me

 let it snow!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2017 6:57 pm

    Oh Jean I love your ideas! I will love watching the book fill up!

    Like

  2. January 14, 2017 3:39 am

    This is starting out so fabulously well–it’s going to be a treasure. And i love reading about the process and thinking as you move along.

    Like

  3. January 15, 2017 9:33 am

    I came across this clicking through from Handspinning News… Shiela has featured your woven jacket this month 🙂
    I have added your blog to my RSS reader, so I never miss a post again, your book idea is amazing!

    Like

    • January 15, 2017 10:34 am

      Hi babylonglegs – thank you for letting me know about Handspinning News. The book will progress, hopefully my ideas will as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

