Skip to content

book pages

January 8, 2017

many moons ago, when the world was warm

I dyed a full sheet of Japanese paper in the indigo vat

couldn’t dye long enough to get a strong colour

the paper became weak and tore a little

not good for cutting shifu thread

so it was placed on the bottom of the pile – and waited

p1110129

looking for weft for book pages

I got busyp1110133

can you see the little beads of paper that are created when tearing the individual paper threads from the top and bottom of the sheet?

in Japan I was taught that they were proof that the paper thread was hand-made

p1110134next in line was a 20/1 linen dyed with kakishibu

it was like wire and difficult to weave

p1110135underneath it is a beautiful silver-grey European hemp singles

which was almost as badly behaved as the linen

p1110136and finally the end is in sight

on a very dark, wet Sunday

not good for a visit to the beach

p1110137the final pair of monthly pages

weft is paper again, the finest I have ever cut

1.5 mm – it is plied with kimono silk, approximately 120/2

tomorrow I can cut it off and see if the idea is going to work!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2017 6:29 pm

    I like the idea!

    Like

  2. January 9, 2017 4:23 am

    When I read this, I just shake my head, at the creativity and the commitment to detail! This is going to be a masterpiece!

    Liked by 1 person

    • January 9, 2017 8:33 am

      Kerry – this is playing, using up bits and pieces. Putting it all together is all just problem solving, trying out ideas until something works.

      Like

  3. January 9, 2017 11:19 am

    You are amazing! Such beautiful weaving. You are going to have to tell us about the kakishibu some time, yes?

    I can’t cut strips easily anymore since I caused a disc in my neck to flatten and pinched a nerve while cutting rug hooking strips with a rotary cutter and ruler. That was over 16 years ago and I never did get the feeling back in my finger. Of course you don’t need to press so hard with thin paper but do be careful, hey? (And yes, I got a proper strip cutter finally. Doesn’t work with thin stuff though.)

    Like

    • January 9, 2017 12:23 pm

      Louisa – I cut 2 sheets of paper at a time, folded that is 8 layers and you have to press hard. It totally messes up the sheet if you don’t make clean cuts with each very thin strip. I use a good Olfal knife with cutting blades that can be broken off and then you have a new sharp blade. I still cut rags with very sharp scissors. or tear them outside when they are sheets.

      Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    January 9, 2017 11:25 am

    i am so eager to see where you take this piece.

    Like

    • January 9, 2017 12:17 pm

      Velma – it’s more like this piece is taking me…?

      Liked by 1 person

      • vdbolyard permalink
        January 11, 2017 4:39 am

        that’s the best sort of bookmaking! i hope you document this all along the path, i am so eager to see it all (yep-total selfishness on my part…)

        Like

      • January 11, 2017 7:44 am

        Velma – I may ask for advice along the way!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

