Skip to content

working through the grey days

December 14, 2016

December’s prayer flag

finished?p1110004feeling relieved – I made it through the year

when the weather improves – in the Spring

I’ll hang them outside and photograph them all together

p1110003I love simple kantha stitch

it creates a lovely texture and is meditative to do

now I have time to decide if I want to do a monthly project next year

a monthly commitment forced me to really think about design, techniques

and my need to express myself through fibre/textiles

it pushed me out of my comfort zone

there is a whole different perspective to explore

back to the weaving which is progressing slowly

p1100989I mark my progress by stitching a thread into the selvage

one colour for half yards and a different colour for yards

p1100990at each yard I tie 1, 2, 3 knots

as the weaving progresses I know exactly how much warp is left to weave

the ties are easy to remove when the cloth is finished

and you don’t have to pin a measuring tape to the weaving

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2016 12:31 pm

    I like the knotty reminders…and I have enjoyed your work on the flags…

    Like

    • December 14, 2016 12:41 pm

      Kjerstin – thank you, I find the measuring knots much better than pins in the weaving. Wondering if the flags will just be more stuff in the cupboard!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. December 15, 2016 4:27 am

    Some photos of all the prayer flags will be amazing to see. I’ll be interested to see if you’d decide on a new challenge–you seem to have enjoyed this one and you really did fascinating work!

    Like

    • December 15, 2016 9:45 am

      Kerry – I have several ideas, just can’t decide if I want to make the commitment??

      Like

      • December 17, 2016 3:37 am

        I hear you–sometimes the commitments that sound like the greatest ideas become their own little prisons . . .

        Like

      • December 17, 2016 9:09 am

        Kerry – so true. Work on the conference in June will become more time consuming, it will have to be my first concern.

        Like

  3. vdbolyard permalink
    December 16, 2016 3:31 am

    your knots really make me happy. what a wonderful way to measure all that beautiful cloth.

    Like

  4. December 17, 2016 6:37 am

    Clever system — it actually adds to the pleasure of weaving, I think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

