Skip to content

looks a little like – winter!

December 6, 2016

so this is winter

p1100966we don’t always get snow

and when we do it doesn’t always stay very long

so last night when we got snow on top of  hail

I rushed out to take a picture

p1100970overnight it froze

in the morning, no soft fluffy snow

sheets of solid ice that had to be chipped off the paths

p1100972with one brave little periwinkle peeking out

good day to finally get the silk weaving

p1100975the light is not good for taking pictures

p1100976 snow flakes inside too !

p1100983and over the neighborhood rooftops a promise of a fine tomorrow

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2016 4:17 pm

    Beautiful, Jean. It is chilly and snowy here as well.

    Like

    • December 6, 2016 4:27 pm

      Kirstin – and you are even closer to the water. I love a little dusting to get me in the mood.

      Like

  2. December 6, 2016 8:15 pm

    I had heard you had snow out on the coast. I always admire how enthusiastic people on the west coast are when they get snow, so genuinely happy. We are sitting out in Alberta with a -31C wind chill, our spirits aren’t so jolly. 🙂 Enjoy the snow.

    Like

    • December 6, 2016 10:28 pm

      Deb – it is not snow, it is sheet ice and I don’t think anyone is enthusiastic. More predicted for Thurs.

      Like

      • December 6, 2016 10:48 pm

        Wow. I just assumed it was the same snow that Saltspring received. Ice is just plain dangerous. Take care walking.

        Like

  3. December 7, 2016 4:24 am

    Your weaving is beautiful–it does look like it’s covered with snowflakes!

    Like

    • December 7, 2016 10:19 am

      Kerry – snowflakes were not what I had in mind, strange how they arrived all at the same time.

      Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    December 7, 2016 5:53 am

    ice is such a pain to deal with. the periwinkle is amazing. the loom is sublime. what a beautiful cloth!

    Like

    • December 7, 2016 10:11 am

      Velma – I’m staying off the roads, the weaving is slow so I will have something to keep me busy while hibernating.

      Like

  5. December 7, 2016 4:51 pm

    We had fluffy snow here in Vancouver – a couple of inches – but then it partially melted and refroze so now it’s icy. Anybody who didn’t shovel on Monday now has an impossible task. It’s hard to walk on the side streets without a walking stick or ski poles. And more forecast for tomorrow! It does look rather festive though.

    I love your fabric, Jean! Such lovely colours.

    Like

    • December 7, 2016 5:22 pm

      Louisa – I cleared all my paths early Tues. morn when I realized it was ice, my younger neighbor helped me with the sidewalk. So happy I made the effort just in case we get more. Drove today and all the main roads are bare but side roads are dicy. think I’ll get lots of weaving done. Stay warm and upright!

      Like

Leave a Reply

