Skip to content

silk and paper

November 30, 2016

designing the warp

p1100944the yarns are slightly different – some reeled and some spun

there is 2 ply and singles

and that pretty natural crepe with nubbles

 turned out to be a major problem

p1100939it took several hours to measure the warp

using a big, old horizontal warping reel (I love it!)

p1100947winding onto the back beam is going very slowly

the crepe yarn has broken several times

too late to change it now – oh, the joys of weaving!

p1100940cutting more paper

I cut 2 – 1/2 sheets at a time, 3 mm. wide

p1100941using the tape as a guide and a T-square stainless steel ruler

to keep all the cuts even

p1100945next it gets wrapped in a damp towel and left overnight

nothing happens in a hurry!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2016 9:57 am

    Joy in many flavours!

    Like

    • November 30, 2016 10:03 am

      Kjerstin – it is a good time of year to slow down and find some long term projects to work on.

      Like

  2. vdbolyard permalink
    November 30, 2016 2:17 pm

    this project delights my eyes, and that nubbly silk would drive me crazy too, and challenge me to make it work. here’s to continued success (it’s beamed now, right?). i can’t tell you how much i love this colorway…and shifu’s coming. note: just seeing you use the larger handled knife struck me as brilliant, a larger handle to relieve the hand tension/aches of using an exacto.

    Like

    • November 30, 2016 2:59 pm

      Velma – too many challenges underway at the same time, haven’t finished the beaming! the dye pot was starting to go mouldy so have to dye first – today. Think I’ve made a BIG mess!! The cutting knife is one I bought in Japan ( think they are available here, the exacto is too small) when I was first introduced to shifu at Kawashima. At the same time I bought a good supply of replacement blades,am still using them. How fortuitous is that?? Folding 2 sheets together (Hiroko Karuno folds 4 at a time) means you are cutting through 8 layers, my hands would never survive an extra 2 sheets. The knife is a OLFAL snap-blade similar to product # H-273 – mine has been replaced with a newer model. They are available online – you need one today!

      Like

      • vdbolyard permalink
        December 2, 2016 6:56 am

        good advice. i’m going to look for one online…

        Like

  3. December 1, 2016 11:34 am

    I’m so glad to see your t-square ruler setup. It hadn’t occurred to me, and that’s one reason why I’ve been reluctant to start into cutting some paper meant for this purpose. Looking forward to updates on your progress!

    Like

    • December 1, 2016 12:35 pm

      digitalgardener – not my idea, it came from Hiroko Karuno in her book “Kigami and Kami-ito” available at the Textile Museum of Canada – http://www.textilemuseum.ca I highly recommend it, I first worked with shifu threads in Japan at Kawashima 25 years ago, read carefully this little book tells you all you need to know including the “tricks”, it is invaluable.

      Like

  4. December 2, 2016 3:37 am

    My goodness–the things you do! It all intrigues me but I cannot imagine the time and frustration involved–you must be a very patient, mellow person . . .

    Like

  5. December 7, 2016 7:03 am

    Lovely colourway.yes, crepe yarns have a tendency to be p I t as, but once past the hurdle they are glorious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

