Skip to content

bamboo

August 18, 2016

it’s going to be the hottest day yet

so Mini and I are taking pictures in the shade of the black bamboo

P1100319the cushions are finished

I had to buy a new iron before sewing

why does everything seem to quit working a couple of months after the warranty runs out!

P1100312one side is woven with only one pattern colour

P1100313on the other side I had fun changing colours

P1100315all handspun pattern yarns

 wool, silk and alpaca

P1100318while hanging out in the bamboo

I remembered these skeins of bamboo I spun and dyed several years ago

indigo, kakishibu, madder and plain bleached

so now I have a plan – and the two madder dyed skeins are going into the indigo vat

bamboo is an amazing plant

P1090367in the forest it grows rapidly

to eat, it  needs to be gathered while very young

it was the season when we were in Fujino

P1090297a local farmer showed up one day to climb the mountain

P1090294he seemed happy with his harvest

P1090041it is delicious eaten fresh

P1080704beautiful in the garden and great for building

P1100320Japanese weavers make bobbins with hollow lengths

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2016 4:00 pm

    Lovely cushions! It appears that your handspun pattern yarns are all 2-ply. Is that your usual practice? Do you ever use singles? Just curious.

    Like

    • August 18, 2016 5:33 pm

      Alice – I love to ply and find that it wears better,especially wool. Because I don’t always have a project in mind I ply some yarns so they will be stronger as warp. Often spin silk as singles or ply it with a very fine (approx. 120/2) Japanese silk. In this case I had to choose yarns that were all approx. the same weight.

      Like

  2. trl710 permalink
    August 18, 2016 9:24 pm

    Beautiful cushions. I love that weave and use it often myself.

    Like

    • August 18, 2016 9:39 pm

      Tobie – thank you, it lends itself to playing with colours, even with a 16 shaft loom I enjoy weaving it.

      Like

  3. August 19, 2016 2:58 am

    Oh, I do love those cushions! And I seem to remember weaving something with bamboo and liking its feel–I’ll need to try more. I just bought another loom . . . 12 shafts . . . what was I thinking?

    Like

    • August 19, 2016 7:36 am

      Kerry – congratulations! what make is it? Because of the way it is produced, bamboo is considered rayon and I’m not so happy with how it feels, that’s why it has been sitting on the shelf so long

      Like

      • August 20, 2016 3:44 am

        The new (used) loom is a Leclerc Nilus II, older but in very good condition. 45 inches weaving width and (gulp) 12 shafts!!

        Like

      • August 20, 2016 8:41 am

        Kerry – my first loom was a 45″ Nilus, I bought it new with 4 shafts and then added another 4, I wove on it for more than 20 years. 12 shafts just takes a little more time but it will build leg muscles.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    August 20, 2016 7:48 am

    lovely post here. bamboo and then there’s that farm… take it easy, maybe the heat has passed by now?

    Like

    • August 20, 2016 8:38 am

      Velma – bamboo is such a renewable, useful resource it has always fascinated me. The heat won’t last long, I love it, just slows me down a bit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

