Skip to content

preparations

August 10, 2016

once upon a time, long, long ago

when I was a young (too young) bride in Great Britain

I bought my veggies from an old farmer – Tom

one fall day he told me “it’s going to be a hard Winter, the rooks are nesting high”

apparently so the snow didn’t reach their nests in the hedgerows

 he also told me it is a sign of a long winter

when there is an unusual abundance of fruit and berries

P1100285fig marmalade in the freezer

P1100286grape jelly next

P1100288more berries on the holly tree than I’ve ever seen before

P1100291the robins will love the mountain ash berries

P1100290the madder is blooming and already has berries

it is only dug up and harvested every three years

P1100297more colour, this time madder with an alum mordant

handspun yarns – boucle wool/mohair plied with fine silk, Merino 2 ply and silk

I used finely ground madder from Maiwa

 not one of my favorite colours

stay tuned, I’m going to try top dyeing or maybe an iron modifier

to tone down the orange

P1070707the weavers are busy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. vdbolyard permalink
    August 10, 2016 11:52 am

    all the weavers at your lace are busy! we have had a plethora of berries, though with this hot spell i wonder how the blueberries are faring (i doon’t have them here and it’s too hot to hike to my favorite spots. too hot.

    Like

    • August 10, 2016 12:19 pm

      Velma – I seem to be very busy without much to show for it but I get a spider web in the face every time I go out the door – don’t know what they know that we don’t.

      Like

  2. August 11, 2016 3:49 am

    Look at that spider web! Wow. I love these signs and signals that are supposed to predict weather–I’m kind of hoping for a snowy winter–our lake is very low and only a lot of snow melt from the mountains is going to raise it significantly. I think the madder color is lovely!

    Like

    • August 11, 2016 7:24 am

      Kerry – only time will tell but I hope you get the snow the lake needs. I takes a great deal of time and effort to get a true red from madder – and also up to 100% dye material to weight of fibre and I didn’t have that.

      Like

  3. August 11, 2016 7:15 am

    What an abundance, the farmer’s tales are widespread but trees can’t actually predict the future they go by what happened the year before and how many early insects there are for pollination. Still its a nice thought and something I believed when I was growing up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

