Skip to content

tending to business

July 23, 2016

the garden has benefited from my weaver’s block

 first order of business, buy a new lawnmower

it definitely was not on my top 10 list of things to spend money on

but it was either sell the house, get a goat or go mower shopping

P1100192

don’t you love this trendy colour model?

a mini mower for mini people

Summer has finally arrived, it is too hot to garden except in the early morning and evening

so I’ve come up with a plan

P1100194choose an old favorite weave structure -monk’s belt- and play

my first pieced/woven quilt finished years agoP1100205

the pieces are machine stitched but all the seams are hand feather stitched

the monk’s belt was woven to pull all the colours of woven scraps together

my stash was much smaller in those days!

an obi from this series of five, woven for the instructors show

ANWG conference Straits and Strands 1997, hosted by the Victoria Guild

ethnic textiles 034twenty years later, in 2017, the Victoria guild will again host an ANWG conference

Treadle Lightly

P1100201this damask piece will definitely become sakiori rags

it doesn’t tear well so will need to be cut

now to wind the linen warp

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2016 4:15 pm

    What a fabulous quilt! My studio is currently hotter than my garden so I’ve been playing in the dirt instead. Cute new lawnmower! Can you get Minnie to mow for you? Ours is a ginormous gas-powered beast that is NOT on my job description. It’s a guy thing. 😉

    I was at that ANWG in 1997! And I hope to make it to this coming one too. We will definitely make a date to meet up.

    Like

    • July 23, 2016 4:47 pm

      Louisa – don’t think Mini is going to volunteer to mow any lawns. that’s a date for 2017!

      Like

  2. July 23, 2016 6:49 pm

    That is such a great quilt, especially for your first one! I would be proud to make something of that quality now and I have made several. I also love the rolled-up woven pieces, so inspiring!

    Like

    • July 23, 2016 7:16 pm

      textileranger – thank you, I’m definitely not a quilter, don’t do anything fancy or traditional but love other peoples. Just put handwoven scraps together to give them another life

      Like

  3. Lis permalink
    July 24, 2016 1:26 am

    Must be the day for it! My son had to go out and buy a new lawnmower yesterday, on his birthday! He said it really wasn’t what he wanted as a birthday present! Your work looks lovely, as always. Here we are enjoying a few days of Summer. It’s too hot to do anything much during the day, holding a needle is sticky work so I’m mainly sitting and being. Winter will be back soon!! Happy Sunday.

    Like

    • July 24, 2016 8:02 am

      Lis – summer was late coming but seems like we are finally getting some heat, I’m enjoying it while it last and not thinking about Winter. Happy birthday to your son, good month for celebrating in your family!

      Like

  4. July 24, 2016 3:22 am

    I was just talking to friends about using some Monk’s belt I wove in a quilt! Or maybe trying to make a quilt that mimics the Monk’s belt–I love the look of that weave structure in general. And the rolled-up bundle with the light blue–that’s gorgeous!

    Like

    • July 24, 2016 7:54 am

      Kerry – I’ve enjoyed weaving Monk’s belt since first discovering it 35 years ago. The obi is all silk and feels wonderful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

