Skip to content

questions

July 19, 2016

help – I’m stuck!

the loom is naked

P1100176two scarves with handspun silk warp, natural dyes

P1100178 weft yarns made a significant difference

on the left, 20/2 silk dyed with lac – a plum colour

right, a fine commercial black silk

 blocks of the 8 harness twill pattern are much more obvious with the darker weft

the question now is what’s next?

how do you choose a project?

a favorite pattern or a new one you haven’t tried

a special yarn, something from the stash that needs to be used

P1100185silk – some handspun, the dark skeins dyed with sumi ink (it smells wonderful)

or the latest purchase you couldn’t resist

do you go through all those books – or samples

P1100189

or do you keep a design book with crazy ideas – some from years back

what will sell at the guild sale or at the studio tour?

P1100167scraps from Heather – old damask tablecloth

indigo dyed to cut into rags for sakiori weaving

the colour and pattern is beautiful, do I keep it and sew a summer top?

or will I look like a walking tablecloth?

P1100187outside the studio summer is calling

and the answers are elusive

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2016 5:22 pm

    I love your door! Alas I have no useful suggestions, but if it was me I’d make something small… 🙂

    Like

  2. jilloy permalink
    July 19, 2016 6:33 pm

    play for a while! the answer will come when you’re ready.

    Like

  3. July 20, 2016 3:49 am

    So many options! I struggle with what to weave next because I’m so new to it and want to try everything. But I do think that, whatever you choose, you be sure to walk out that door and enjoy summer–it’ll be over before we know it. Take a small loom out there!

    Like

    • July 20, 2016 9:03 am

      Kerry – when I need a real dose of summer I go to the beach, at home – I’m picking guard hairs out of qiviut. It feels so good to be outside.

      Like

  4. July 20, 2016 8:12 am

    I love the color collection of pic #3. I’d make a classic japanese fine striped fabric (like kimono) in plain weave with the warp being dominant to show off the stripes. I made a long Indian kurta with a damask linen tablecloth dyed with earl grey tea and with a burnt orange border, cuffs, and placket, and it turned out great. I think the indigo damask would make a beautiful top! Maybe with a contrasting border at cuffs and neck???

    Like

    • July 20, 2016 9:11 am

      Kristin – next project was to be sakiori and I needed the indigo but it seemed too good to tear up, that’s how I got stuck. Now I’m indigo dyeing small pieces for rags and I can do both sakiori and a top.

      Like

  5. July 20, 2016 8:29 am

    Gee, I don’t think I’ve ever had that problem! My brain is usually running about 10 ideas ahead, 9 of which never become reality because everything takes so much time. I do remember getting lots of new ideas when I sorted and inventoried all my yarns, though. I’m sure you’ll come up with something eventually. Maybe take a break and play in the garden? No stress; no guilt!

    Like

    • July 20, 2016 9:17 am

      Louisa – I have lots of ideas – a binder full – but I also have drawers, closets and a studio full of textiles and weaving. Turning one type of stash into another stash.

      Like

  6. July 22, 2016 1:09 am

    yes how do you choose a new project! today’s blogpost was done thinking of you. then saw bryan’s. it’s the zeitgeist!

    Like

    • July 22, 2016 7:31 am

      Neki – I’ve been hiding out in the garden but it is raining today so will have to seriously tidy the stash.

      Like

Leave a Reply

