Skip to content

busy, busy

June 26, 2016

writing a blog can take up an amazing amount of time!

but….

P1100043the hanten is finished

all handwoven and hand stitched including the lining

P1100042the fabric is soft and light, it hangs nicely

I’ve been wearing it on cool-ish days

weaving the different collar/band was worth the effort

P1100038the indigo vat is busy

dyeing last summer’s linen pants and top

odd scraps for stitching including a piece of crocheted lace

 napkins to line the boro bag

P1100045and this linen apron I brought back from Japan

I stitched and tied a border of shibori stars before dyeing

it needs a pocket and I’ve been practising these shibori flowers

P1100029from Imprints on Cloth that the Miao people of Guizhou, China do so beautifully

I don’t seem to be doing it right – does anyone know how to stitch this pattern?

P1100057the loom is never naked for long

handspun 2 ply silk warp, all natural dyes

my favorite commercial black silk weft

the colours are off, my camera really doesn’t like this warp!

what’s next?

P1100032winding “gifted” cotton into skeins to dye them in the indigo

the fabric is a large, heavy linen table-cloth

never washed/used that I bought for a song in the consignment store

going to shibori stitch and indigo dye it for a Summer bedspread

may take until Christmas!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2016 3:07 am

    The things you make! The hanten is so beautiful and I love the apron but the weaving? Wow!

    Like

    • June 27, 2016 8:52 am

      Kerry – very pleased with the hanten, the warp was designed for something completely different and it just all worked out. The weaving is 2 scarves for the next studio tour.

      Like

  2. June 27, 2016 7:26 am

    busy making the most beautiful and satisfying things! thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Jean-Pierre Antonio permalink
    June 27, 2016 7:42 am

    That is the most elegant hanten that I have ever seen. There must be another word in Japanese to call it. A hanten is for wearing around the house. Your creation could be worn out on the town.

    Like

  4. emilysuzanna permalink
    June 27, 2016 8:07 pm

    The hanten is truly beautiful! Making things is just the best!

    Like

    • June 27, 2016 10:50 pm

      Suzanna – thank you. Are you safe and ok, I’ve been wondering if you are far away from the fires?

      Like

    • emilysuzanna permalink
      June 30, 2016 11:04 pm

      Hi Jean, thank you for thinking of me…we are safe here, but I noticed an ad in the local paper for more fire fighters…

      Like

      • June 30, 2016 11:37 pm

        Suzanna – happy to hear that, think it is going to be a long, hot summer – here too.

        Like

  5. lagriccia permalink
    June 28, 2016 12:29 am

    Oh, this hanten: I fell in love! Jean you are a magician with cloth and thread.

    Like

    • June 28, 2016 8:01 am

      Blandina – HI, nice to hear from you and thank you, I needed to make one before I forgot everything I learned in Japan.

      Like

  6. June 28, 2016 8:15 am

    My, you have been busy! Gorgeous hanten, two weaves quadruple the pleasure. And that warp, even if your camera doesn’t like it, I do.

    Like

    • June 28, 2016 9:44 am

      Alice – thank you, I love the ability to weave complimentary fabrics. It does quadruple the pleasure.

      Like

  7. June 28, 2016 9:57 am

    busy myself,just catching up after 3 hectic weeks.1 the indigo museum! ! 2 what a treat to go back to your school.3 the hanten oh my!! few things beat wearing your own handwovens.
    and all those gorgeous japanese tools.

    Like

Leave a Reply

