Skip to content

another amazing day

May 13, 2016

yesterday we drove to Kyoto, through the city and out to the village of Ichihara

to visit the Kawashima Textile Museum


and then, to be given a full tour of the school by Takehiko Masada, principal of the school

I studied kasuri ( ikat) at the school for six months in 1987

they had found my class picture and I met one teacher who was still teaching

wow! amazing old memories

then on to Ohara (great memories there, too) to a dyeing and fabric shop

I am looking for a full roll of linen yukata cloth to dye

but ended up buying


a full roll ( 12 metres) of chirimen silk – because the price was excellent

and two metres of beautiful linen – all they had

chirimen is woven with a very tight twist weft thread that gives it a crinkled texture

then the owner gave me an even better price


and emptied the scrap box in my lap

the grey fabric, on the left, is silk and horsehair

the piece in the middle is the same but dyed

and the top black piece is chirimen silk

we came home for a cooking lesson

img_0388-1

homemade gyoza

if it is possible, today was even more amazing

but that will have to wait, we are preparing takoyaki for a party!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2016 7:42 am

    Oh wow, how lovely to meet a teacher of 30 years ago! And I look forward to your further silk adventures!

    Like

    • May 13, 2016 8:05 am

      Kjerstin – time to pack my suitcase, tomorrow is my last day. Lots of pictures when I get home.

      Like

  2. vdbolyard permalink
    May 13, 2016 8:11 am

    SILK and HORSEHAIR!!! oh my lord! how amazing. i still have some of my mare mist’s hair around… being a horse girl and all…fabulous post and fabulous trip. thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  3. lagriccia permalink
    May 14, 2016 12:10 am

    Keep writing, I enjoy traveling with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

