Skip to content

   Spinning my wheels

April 8, 2016

I’m back stitching the April flag

the yarn is handspan Bombyx silk dyed with rhubarb root

a very strong golden yellow – my colour of joy

the stitched circles are chemanthy embroidery that I found on http://www.deepashome.blogspot.com

Deepa gives a very clear tutorial and it is fun to do

     

  

I am so tempted to chuck this thing and go back to Microsoft and a human size keyboard

I know there are 2 photos here but can find absolutely no way to delete one of them

can’t even figure out how to scrap the entire blog and start over

  
 the new PLY magazine focuses on cotton

I first heard about it from Kristin who has two articles in the magazine – she blogs at http://www.resourcefulnomad.com, 

the Akha spindle (in front) is one she made, it is light weight, nicely balanced and spins a very fine, even cotton

on http://www.quimperhitty.wordpress.com Kjerstin has put a link to a very interesting video on textile conservation

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97h1_3kdczc

have no idea if my link will work but you can go to Quimper Hittys

that is all for this attempt!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. emilysuzanna permalink
    April 8, 2016 7:52 pm

    That stitch looks so amazing. I will be trying it out, especially since suns and moons have been coming up a lot lately. Also, thank you for sharing about the Quimper Hitties. Have gotten rather hooked on their adventures.

    Like

    • April 8, 2016 8:02 pm

      Suzanna – the chemanthy is fun and Deepa shows different ways of using it. Whenever I run into Kjerstin she pulls a Hitty out of her pocket and I get to meet one of them. Of course she carves them herself and is a genius at stitching/knitting clothing. I start my day in the Hitty cupboard.

      Like

  2. lagriccia permalink
    April 9, 2016 12:00 am

    It seems to me that you are pretty good at taming modern technology. Well done! A woman of 1000 talents.

    Like

    • April 9, 2016 8:25 am

      Hi Blandina – oh my, hate to disappoint but this “instrument of torture” may be my undoing.

      Like

  3. April 9, 2016 1:03 am

    I feel for you – ai like old school pc and keys. iPad drives me nuts. I have however found my Samsung smart phone more intuitive – but way too small to be comfortable.
    Love your colours.

    Like

    • April 9, 2016 8:19 am

      thymewarp – not too sure this is the appropriate devise for me, I’ll stick to it for the time being but it will get returned to its much more savvy owner.

      Like

  4. April 9, 2016 7:12 am

    Hey, want me to bring a Hitty and my iPad and see if I can help?

    Like

    • April 9, 2016 8:15 am

      Kjerstin – well, that is an interesting idea, help is certainly necessary but the twins might add to the confusion.

      Like

  5. April 10, 2016 4:14 pm

    HI Jean, Thanks 😉 I hope you enjoyed the issue…I especially liked the bit about Louie Garcia spinning cotton for the sprang shirt. I was watching this video on turning kokeshi dolls and I thought of you: https://vimeo.com/79369173

    Like

    • April 10, 2016 4:56 pm

      Kristin – definitely enjoyed what I’ve read so far, feeling somewhat stressed so spinning cotton in the evenings to relax. thanks, love the kokeshi

      Like

  6. April 12, 2016 1:25 am

    amazing stitching.deepa’s a wealth of information.

    Like

    • April 12, 2016 7:46 am

      Neki – Deepa’s work is beautiful and her tutorials are so easy to follow, I enjoy her blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

