Skip to content

designer textiles

March 3, 2016

choices – that is what design is all about

it doesn’t matter if you are designing for textiles, landscaping or a new house

ask yourself what you want the finished product to do for you?

what is the best way to achieve your idea?

what materials and techniques will do the job?

P1080363for the March prayer flag

I started with an idea – “choice”

and selected fabric scraps, this gets me started

(sorry for poor quality picture – I take quick pictures of design layouts)

moved on to this

P1080365time and experimenting led to final choices

I frequently amuse myself drawing zen tangles

and wanted to see if they could translate to textiles and stitching

P1080368the idea on paper

P1080367with help from the book “One Zentangle A Day” by Beckah Krahula

and my workbook

I knew I had to work quickly on the March commitment

because homework was about to demand time and attention

P1080377my package from Japan

a 48″ X 72″ (122cm. X 183cm) piece of light weight, crinkly linen

with a simple design drawn on it, off-center

needles, thread and marker pens

no instructions

in a previous email mokume shibori (wood grain) was mentioned – for lining

well, I’ll start at the unmarked end and by the time I’ve stitched my way to the pattern

perhaps the light will have dawned

the sun is shining, I’m off to play in the garden

p.s. spell check hates me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2016 4:18 pm

    Beautiful Jean…and isn’t the sunshine a blessing today!

    Like

  2. March 4, 2016 4:21 am

    So, you’re a zentangle-er, huh? It’s quite the rage in my quilt guild! I love that little embroidered circle-in-a-square design–it looks like an Arts and Crafts flower. Maybe Rennie Mackintosh?

    Like

    • March 4, 2016 7:43 am

      Kerry – quilt designs have some similar patterns. Mackintosh was the subject of my final paper when I studied interior design and the circle-in-a square design is very similar to one he used, I love it too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

