Skip to content

marching on

February 28, 2016

whew!

finished just before the end of the month

P1080358

there are seventeen different hand-woven scraps

two of the borders are also used in the hearts

all handsewn

P1080353this pattern has two distinct sides

it changes significantly when washed

re-threading the reed didn’t fix the problem

it is a turned draft and I think this is the way it is going to weave

P1080349the flower basket is full – ready for the studio tour

April 16 & 17 – the weekend before I leave for Japan

now on to the prayer flag for March

when I was young and experimenting with life I tried some new age motivational practices

(one of my sons referred to it as “voodoo shit”)

P1080362

some of it I still choose to live by

and so March will be about choice.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. emilysuzanna permalink
    February 28, 2016 11:31 am

    I love those words…how true they are. Also, I’m admiring what looks like perhaps some tea towels to be…I cannot resist and would like to order a couple again if possible. I have a happy addiction to them brightening my kitchen🌸

    Like

    • February 28, 2016 11:58 am

      Suzanna – they are great words and have supported me through many situations. Yes, tea towels. Lots of colour but a little more subdued than the previous bright ones. I’ll put your name on a couple and you can decide when they are finished. 🙂

      Like

  2. February 28, 2016 7:18 pm

    AMAZING that you are so close to japan!!! and i immediately copied down the voodoo shit. thank you for choosing, and for sharing.

    Like

    • February 28, 2016 8:06 pm

      Aimee – you do so much sharing with your students and on your blog – thank you for sharing and bringing hanji to all of us. The voodoo shit is all good.

      Like

  3. March 1, 2016 3:13 am

    Voodoo shit–that cracks me up. I would be one to call it voodoo shit, too, but to secretly admire the attitude expressed! I am continually impressed with your productivity and the range of your creativity!

    Like

    • March 1, 2016 7:22 am

      Kerry – think I have a short attention span and get bored easily, it keeps me exploring new things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

