Skip to content

sewing small handwovens

February 6, 2016

the April Studio Tour is one week before I fly to Japan

time to start preparing

P1080264the first rag bag is finished

below it is the second bag half done

waiting for the top piece to be woven

P1080279the body of the bag is sewn from two narrow pieces

the top is the same narrow loom width, folded in half lengthwise

the handles are stitched into the seam and up to the top

P1080281difficult to photograph

the design takes longer to weave and sew

but it makes a strong, functional bag that I enjoy using

and like to sell

P1080270 woven pieces  12″ X 8″ (30.5 X 20.25 cm.) make small zipper bags

handy for jewelry, cosmetics, bits and pieces

P1080273two more ready to finish when I get zippers

they are good for gifts and use up ends of handwoven fabric

interior design samples made very nice linings

P1080274all the small scraps go into my sample book (shimacho)

now I’m off to buy zippers

next week, more small things

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2016 3:21 pm

    the Quimper Hittys LOVE small things!

    Like

  2. February 6, 2016 3:53 pm

    Do you come by Okinawa or just main land Japan? Do you go to collect on textiles or for classes? Beautiful work. Learning to loom is on my list of things to eventually get around to learning after my babies are in school.

    Like

  3. February 6, 2016 4:02 pm

    Monica – one of my sons had a summer job in Naha and I spent 3 weeks with him – absolutely loved it. I spent 6 months at Kawashima Textile school in Kyoto in 1987 and have gone back whenever I can afford in since. Will go to Japanese Textile Workshops in April and then to Osaka to stay with a friend.

    Like

  4. February 7, 2016 4:05 am

    Look at all those beautiful small samples! I need to get a system going for saving the details of my projects in one place. And I need to learn to put in a zipper because I really want to be able to make those little pouches . . .

    Like

    • February 7, 2016 8:04 am

      Kerry – I keep individual weaving projects on index cards – back 40 years. The sample book only has scraps in it, no directions.Zippers in the small bags is a bit tricky, the lining is hand sewn to make the inside tidy.

      Like

  5. February 7, 2016 1:36 pm

    The small bags are very satisfying.

    Like

  6. February 10, 2016 1:29 am

    will follow your lead on the small bags. those could be nice presents.

    Like

  7. vdbolyard permalink
    February 10, 2016 2:59 am

    so glad to see these lovely things! and japan, SOON!

    Like

Leave a Reply

