Skip to content

January blues

January 20, 2016

hello out there

it seems like many people in blog land have slowed down

and in some cases disappeared

I’m feeling a bit of the January blues myself

P1080213

maybe that is why the question mark took on a life of its own

P1080214using handspun thrums the stitching added some colour to an otherwise grey month

meanwhile, at the loomP1080207sakiori (rag weave)  workbags

the weaving will be on two warps with the body of the bag in rags and the top in plain weave

P1080202log cabin again, similar to the cushions woven last year

no fear of running out of rags

the coverlet is close to completion

P1080215  binding is hand sewn on two sides

the printed fabric backing was just barely large enough

 now it is being used in a way that saves it from the scissors

P1080218blogging takes time

as most of you know, handmade is labour intensive and s-l-o-w

photographing textiles is not easy

 the light at this time of year can be grey and uninspiring

I am constantly thinking about what to write next

and then there are technical/computer issues

WordPress is “messing around” with format – again!

but onesmallstitch carries on

and January will soon be behind us!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2016 1:50 pm

    as always, it’s a treat to see what you are working on and read what you have to say. I love your blogging.

    Like

  2. vdbolyard permalink
    January 20, 2016 1:57 pm

    yes on all accounts. the gray grey greige…but it’s getting there. slowly. i always forget how long and hard it is.

    Like

    • January 20, 2016 3:32 pm

      Velma – with no snow this year it really has been grey. My trouble is, I always think Spring is just around the corner as soon as Christmas is over – just a spoiled West coast kid.

      Like

  3. myrajdunn permalink
    January 20, 2016 4:28 pm

    The question mark is wonderful Jean. Very pretty. I’ve always loved the old fashioned lazy daisy. I also love your
    ragweave workbags. I’m making bags too at the moment. Have just finished a large blue quilt which haven’t put on the blog yet. Next stop, hospital for a shoulder op.

    Like

    • January 20, 2016 5:27 pm

      Myra – boro quilt that has been on the go for months, it has made an appearance several times at different stages. Best wishes for a successful op. and a speedy recovery. Will you be able to stitch?

      Like

  4. January 20, 2016 4:43 pm

    Rather grey down in our corner too 😦 I know what you mean about the uninspiring light…
    but the Hittys are trying to cheer themselves up by making straw hats for summer!

    Like

    • January 20, 2016 5:24 pm

      Kjerstin – bless the Hittys they cheer me up no matter what, always find the bright side of every adventure.

      Like

  5. January 20, 2016 6:17 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and lovely pictures. I also feel the tension between spending time blogging and keeping up with the goings on online and the discipline of putting in the necessary time into slow textiles. I love your question mark and am a huge fan of Boro.

    Like

    • January 20, 2016 7:06 pm

      Bobbi – I find I need to schedule the blog into my routine – like doing the laundry or washing the kitchen floor! The question mark was definitely fun.

      Like

  6. Judi Bushby permalink
    January 20, 2016 6:53 pm

    All that lovely hand stitching. You constantly amaze with the progression of all your pieces. I wish I had your determination and persistence. I will need to get my act into gear in prep for Bryan’s workshop later in the year. Happy stitching.

    Like

    • January 20, 2016 7:04 pm

      Judy – oh wow, will you be at Bryan’s in April?? Me too! and I need to start getting prepared.

      Like

  7. January 21, 2016 3:21 am

    For someone struggling with January, you sure are making wonderful things! Like the others, I especially love the question mark. I feel a lot like you do re: blogging–I’m always trying to think what to say next and how to fit it into the daily whirl . . .

    Like

    • January 21, 2016 7:37 am

      Kerry – you do a wonderful job of finding the right words, finding the inspiration on a regular basis is difficult.

      Like

  8. January 21, 2016 6:41 am

    A beautiful question mark. Reminds me that sometimes the questions are more important than the answers.

    Like

    • January 21, 2016 7:35 am

      Alice – so true, you can’t work on finding an answer when you haven’t defined what it is you need.

      Like

  9. Kathy permalink
    February 27, 2016 8:15 am

    Will you show me how to embroider the little flowers in the question mark? I love them.

    Like

    • February 27, 2016 8:47 am

      Kathy – any time, they are basic and very easy. I’ll trade for some computer advice, you let me know when it is convenient for you.

      Like

  10. April 17, 2016 7:32 am

    I just discovered your blog. I am going through the same blues that you are going through. I hope that we get through it together!

    Like

    • April 17, 2016 10:32 am

      Hi Agy – nice to “meet” you. I have woven with rags “sakiori” for years and love the finished product. Recycling old bed sheets makes soft, strong rags and you can tear them rather than cut, do it outside so you’re not breathing in the fibre dust. Btw I was a British navy wife and lived in Jahore Barhu for 2 1/2 years, loved Singapore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

