Skip to content

choices

November 30, 2015

it will be a relief to see this month disappear

with small steps in a positive direction

today the insurance co. has given permission to choose/order new flooring

P1070950another bag to the charity shop

and several bags to the dump

there is a silver lining to all this stress – getting rid of STUFF

P1070948so in order to capitalize on the effort and maybe have a little fun

I’ve been reading  “the life-changing magic of tidying up” by Marie Kondo

the author does admit that many of her clients (she does this for a profession) are women in their 30’s

living in the vicinity of Tokyo – now that really does not fit my profile

remember, I have lived in Japan with 30 somethings!

so some of the advice is less than helpful and reads more like a comedy script

The process of assessing how you feel about the things you own, identifying those that have fulfilled their purpose, expressing your gratitude, and bidding them farewell, is really about examining your inner self, a rite of passage to a new life.”

oh gee whizz! – why didn’t I know that when I was working as a psychiatric nurse

and still I have tidied my sock and underwear drawer

the scarf drawer – do you know how many scarves a weaver/textile nut can accumulate?

P1070949before, the drawer would barely close – now I will wear only the ones I love

and hopefully not fill it up again

the spice drawer and the pantry shelves  (the ones they didn’t take away)

bathroom cupboards, the handspun stash cupboard and horrors! the recycle cupboard

there is still a long way to go but I have reduced by more than 50%

am I experiencing the elation the author assures me I will feel?

not yet, I just feel exhausted

the book is a fun read and there are some good tips along the way

give it a try, it might “change your life forever

and if you do it the author’s way (the right way) you will “never revert to clutter again

time will tell!

after a morning of de-cluttering I treat myself to some fibre time

I was beginning to think the weaving muse had left this mess forever

but, dinner at a friend’s home and an encounter with a gift towel I’d totally forgotten about

had me looking for the old notes

P1070947these will be bath towels but I’m listing them as crying towels

P1070946a wonderful linen warp (its absorbent!)

now to get it on the loom

12 Comments leave one →
  1. vdbolyard permalink
    November 30, 2015 2:49 pm

    you’re beginning to sound a bit more like yourself, and the bath towels (WOWZA) warp may be the thing that changes your life. not this entertaining book.

    Like

    • November 30, 2015 2:55 pm

      Velma – being warped definitely did change my life, years ago, in many different ways. The book is a rather simplistic diversion.

      Liked by 1 person

      • vdbolyard permalink
        November 30, 2015 5:49 pm

        and lord knows you need that diversion right about now!

        Like

      • November 30, 2015 6:33 pm

        Velma – they are going to start the new sub-floor in the kitchen tomorrow, I’m dreading the mess but can’t wait for it to be finished.

        Like

  2. November 30, 2015 4:11 pm

    I just went to request that book from the library and there are 325 people in line ahead of me! I guess lots of people have the same issues as I do. Congrats on all your organizing efforts, maybe one day you will look back on the flood as a blessing. Feel free to give me a virtual swat as you read that!

    Like

    • November 30, 2015 4:48 pm

      Heather – I have 2 people waiting to borrow the book – then I’ll send it to you. If I survive I will see all this as a positive shove in the right direction. I’d rather give you a virtual HUG. 🙂

      Like

  3. December 1, 2015 7:46 am

    What a month you have weathered. I struggle with de-cluttering constantly. It’s so hard to let go . I give to a paralyzed veterans group about every other month, forcing myself to let go for a good cause. Glad your continuing to find time to weave.

    Like

    • December 1, 2015 9:03 am

      Barb – I too, struggle with letting go – and am paying the price now. Hope to do a major job of this once and for all.

      Like

  4. December 1, 2015 9:57 am

    Letting go is hard for me too. Especially when it’s stuff that my husband has to sign off on as well! He might be worse than I am at decluttering. We both agree that craft supplies are off limits though!

    Glad your floor will be fixed soon. Hang in there, Jean!

    Like

    • December 1, 2015 10:19 am

      Louisa – it is the stuff with sentimental attachments that are hard, when you’ve lived this long there seems to be an extraordinary amount of stuff with memories.

      Like

  5. December 2, 2015 3:12 am

    Goodbye November–don’t let the door hit you on the way out! What a month! But I can see quite a lot of good coming from the bad and am looking forward to hearing more about the towels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

