Skip to content

a broken beauty

September 7, 2015

P1070536P1070541

isn’t she beautiful?

there she was, in the window of the antique/junk store

so calm and serene

I had to have her

yes, she’s ivory

I struggled with that – is it wrong to buy ivory when it is old

and you’re not supporting the current trade ?

P1070547

the detail is beautiful

look at the spider on her parasol and the rose in her hand

P1070550her hair and the patterns on her kimono and obi

P1070544but … here is the reason for the inexpensive price

at some time she lost her head

 the parasol must have been in her hand

at least it was saved, but not the handle piece

 someone did a terrible repair job

if I was in Japan I would find someone who could be more respectful

I went back to visit her several times

and then I brought her home – I wasn’t sure anyone else would

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lis permalink
    September 7, 2015 12:22 pm

    She is exquisite, you did the right thing in rescuing her. I wonder whether you will find someone to restore her to her former glory or leave her to show her story in her wear – like the rest of us!!

    Like

    • September 7, 2015 12:38 pm

      Lis – don’t know anyone here I would trust to attempt a repair. It is probably possible in Japan. Removing the glue from ivory is a scary thought. Hope you are feeling better.

      Like

  2. Judi behby permalink
    September 7, 2015 5:10 pm

    What a magnificent find. Obviously meant to be. She is lucky to have found such a respectful owner. I have been on the hunt for a little figure like this for a long time and searched last October when in Japan but oh so expensive – in the thousands of dollars.. Treasure her always. I have 4 brass netsuke but nothing quite as exquisite as this. Last year we were lucky enough to have an exhibition of netsuke in our State Art Gallery. I visited many times. Exquisite.

    Like

    • September 7, 2015 6:21 pm

      Judi – she is lovely, what a shame she was broken. If I get back to Japan I will take her with me and hopefully find someone to do a better repair. I do have a couple netsuke, they were gifts.

      Like

  3. September 8, 2015 1:57 am

    beautiful indeed.no, i don’t think it’s wrong to buy old ivory. prohibition-even moral- would be akin to throwing the baby along w. the bathwater. better not take her with you on a plane bcse it will get confiscated, it’s ivory and that’s all they see.

    Like

  4. September 8, 2015 5:56 am

    Yes, she has found just the right home. Patterning calls across time & cultures.

    Like

    • September 8, 2015 7:36 am

      Alice – I’ll keep her safe and enjoy.

      Neki – you’re right of course she’ll have to stay in Canada.

      Like

  5. September 9, 2015 5:00 pm

    Give me a call at work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

