Skip to content

playing with colour

August 5, 2015

we are experiencing a hot, dry summer

the garden is showing the stress of water restrictions

already, the growing season is winding down

P1070316

the indigo didn’t flourish this year despite daily hand watering and excessive heat

shown with a large piece of rhubarb root

hoping to get a second cutting

P1070336crispy indigo leaves in less than a day

chopped rhubarb root is ready for the dye pot

P1070332the Japanese maple glows in the afternoon sun

today is cooler, overcast and windy

out in the garden I heard the familiar sound of  Canada geese

they were flying – north??

where are they going?

and my neighbour is chopping firewood

the first set of crackle samples are finished

P1070344this colour and weave crackle threading is good for using up odd lengths of colour

back to weaving with two shuttles

P1070341  this one shows the weave structure, it’s my favorite

off to wind another warp

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2015 3:28 am

    Oh, dear me-signs of fall already? Although I do love fall and maybe it will bring relief from your heat/drought issues.

    Like

    • August 6, 2015 7:14 am

      Kerry – what we really need is rain, without lightening strikes, to control the forest fires.

      Like

  2. August 6, 2015 5:45 am

    Sorry about your indigo. Do you use the dried leaves? Diana

    Like

    • August 6, 2015 7:12 am

      Diana – I’ll use the dried leaves with fresh leaves from the second cut, there may be enough for one skein. I only do it for fun and to remind myself of the work that goes into the production of indigo.

      Like

  3. August 6, 2015 5:50 am

    Yes, that 2 shuttle sample is very satisfying. Colors I wouldn’t normally think of together, but the final result is so rich and varied!

    Like

    • August 6, 2015 7:08 am

      Alice – those are not my colours either, that is why I like sampling, you can try odd combinations

      Like

  4. August 6, 2015 5:12 pm

    I managed a small vat today from my fresh Japanese indigo leaves. My plants are also stressed and already starting to flower (a month early!) but I got good blue from them thanks to all the sunshine! This will be the only vat this year though I usually get 2 or 3. I left all the flowering stems for seeds for next year. I think the plants deserve a drink of fish fertiliser now.

    I really like the colours of your crackle, particularly the one you show up close!

    Like

    • August 6, 2015 7:28 pm

      Louisa – I can’t figure out the indigo, Japan is so much hotter than here, but it is very humid. This is the worst year I’ve ever had. I may have to bum some seeds from you. I really like that crackle, too. 🙂

      Like

  5. August 7, 2015 2:13 am

    oh dear, where should i begin talking about plant loses? 3 heat waves in a row, no rain and due to that bugs galore.
    yes, definitely the one with black.

    Like

Leave a Reply

