Skip to content

peace and love

July 28, 2015

the Tanabata rag strips hung in the maple tree for three weeks

through sun and wind and yes, even rain

P1070297the fabric was dyed with plant material from the garden

as was the heavier backing piece

this was meant to be a quick, fun project

but it took on a life of its own

P1070299

I love the subtle colours

the way the wishes are partially hidden in the weaving

(click on pictures to enlarge)

it has the five colours of the elements, seen in Tibetan prayer flags

blue – sky and heavens

white – clouds

green – water

yellow – earth

red – fire

  did you see the red linen yarn woven through the rags?

once again the wishes are hanging in the maple tree

Love and Peace blowing in the wind

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2015 12:12 pm

    Oh Jean, I love this piece. Is it for sale?

    Like

    • July 28, 2015 12:21 pm

      Heather – it has a definite presence I love it, too. Hadn’t considered selling it, will give it some thought.

      Like

      • July 28, 2015 12:37 pm

        I guess I could always make my own – but I always say that and rarely do. The wishes are personal so maybe it should stay with you. But if you DO decide to sell it…let me know!

        Like

      • July 28, 2015 7:18 pm

        Heather – I often think the same thing and then never get there, If/when I make a decision you will get first refusal.

        Like

  2. July 28, 2015 5:43 pm

    It is beautiful, and so thoughtful.

    Like

  3. July 30, 2015 3:14 am

    I like the way so much of your weaving is imbued with deeper meaning.

    Like

    • July 30, 2015 7:46 am

      Kerry – all my textile projects are simply a continuation of my daily life, a way of expressing myself and having fun.

      Like

  4. vdbolyard permalink
    July 31, 2015 12:06 pm

    love and peace blowing in the wind…and kerry is right and so are you. it’s ain’t just weaving…

    Like

    • July 31, 2015 12:58 pm

      Velma – this year, when I started on my paper wishes a flash of meaning popped into my head and I saw the rags and the finished piece all in an instant. wouldn’t it be wonderful if inspiration came so easily all the time?

      Like

Leave a Reply

